Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I am new to bsd. Just installed FreeBSD 6.2. When i run startx, I get a desktop with 3 xterm windows. I need kde/gnome or any other desktop with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

kde

Hi,

I am new to bsd. Just installed FreeBSD 6.2.
    When i run startx, I get a desktop with 3 xterm windows. I need kde/gnome or any other desktop with menus. Please help step by step.

Thank You

This information is available to you in the handbook.

Specifically, have a look here:
    http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO...ok/x11-wm.html

Depending on your situation, this is a rare case where I'd recommend installing the package as described -
    Code:
    # pkg_add -r kde
    Easy and painless.

If you opt to install from ports instead, just be aware that it will take a long time to install kde and its many, many dependencies. (On my AMD Duron 1.6GHz box, it takes ~ 2 days.)

Linux Newbie
    I am going to reinstall freebsd. What kind of installation should I do when it gives me 9 options.
    can freebsd install kde?

What is the diference between 2 kde installation methods in handbook?
    How much time will be needed for both? mine pc speed is 850Mhz, 128 MB RAM.

I have 2 Freebsd cd. What it includes if it don't install any desktop?

There is no reason to reinstall FBSD (it won't buy you anything).

First, a 850MHz CPU + 128MB RAM is not going to be able to run kde or gnome well. That is a very low-end box. (Think of the resources that Windows XP requires -- kde and gnome are similar.)

May I suggest xfce, or better still, fluxbox? There are xfce installation instructions in the URL I posted for you.

To install fluxbox, use:
    Code:
    # pkg_add -r fluxbox
    Then with your regular user account:
    Code:
    $ cat 'exec fluxbox' > ~/.xinitrc
    Finally, startx.

What is the diference between 2 kde installation methods in handbook?