Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
This is a very minor thing but as long as we're open to suggestions... I've noticed when you quick reply to a post, you get the little dialog box with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377

    Code Tags in Quick Reply


    This is a very minor thing but as long as we're open to suggestions...

    I've noticed when you quick reply to a post, you get the little dialog box with some of the text manipulation features like bold, italics, quote, etc. But there's no code tags. Like I said, it's a very minor thing and might not be worth implementing but I think the code tags are used as much as anything. I know I use them quite a bit.

    Anyways, just a thought.

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    After going to quick reply, you can get the code tags if you press the Go Advanced button.
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    After going to quick reply, you can get the code tags if you press the Go Advanced button.
    Yeah, I saw that but that would essentially be the same thing as clicking on Reply to Post initially. It would require a page refresh. That's the whole reason why I like using the Quick Reply because I don't have to re-direct to a new page.

  4. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Yeah, I totally understand your point, but I'm not sure that a message box needing all the possible tags that posters might want to use would qualify as a quick reply. Maybe it's better to simply press the Reply to Post button to begin with if you plan to do more than a simple text message.

    Either way, only Core Wizard has the permissions needed to make such a change to the board, so maybe he'll see your message and reply to you directly.

    Thanks for the feedback.
    oz

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    Yeah, it just seems like the Quick Reply only includes those buttons which get used regularly and I think of the code tags as one of those buttons and there's certainly room for it across the top bar.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    i never use the code button i always type it out

  7. #7
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Plus one from me. Sometimes I get annoyed at having to constantly type code tags when doing quick replies.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •