Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I had a question for a moderator or administrator about what I wanted to post. The rules section say to contact an administrator. WHERE??? Where do you contact administrators? Anyway ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    16

    [SOLVED] Contact Us / URLs?


    I had a question for a moderator or administrator about what I wanted to post. The rules section say to contact an administrator. WHERE??? Where do you contact administrators?

    Anyway my post was denied because I was not allowed to post any urls.
    Heres my post, where are the urls? Is this site useless??
    Last edited by oz; 01-11-2010 at 10:20 PM. Reason: started new thread with the sound card issue

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Shrimpton View Post
    I had a question for a moderator or administrator about what I wanted to post. The rules section say to contact an administrator. WHERE??? Where do you contact administrators?
    It took me a while to find it too but right at the bottom of the site, on the left is a "Contact us" link. Maybe this can be made a bit clearer admin? The only way I found it was by doing a search for "contact"

    I'm not sure why it thought there was a URL in it though I'm afraid
    Linux User #453176

  3. #3
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Shrimpton View Post
    I had a question for a moderator or administrator about what I wanted to post. The rules section say to contact an administrator. WHERE??? Where do you contact administrators?

    Anyway my post was denied because I was not allowed to post any urls.
    Heres my post, where are the urls? Is this site useless??
    Check the following thread for info about using the website, including the Contact Us link, and the URLs plugin with work arounds:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/com...ng-forums.html
    oz

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Community Leader
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    937
    Also let me know if you contact through that link but don't receive any response. Thanks -

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    16
    Thank you for the reply Ozar.
    The information provided in the link you posted does not pertain to me. I believe I was pretty clear that I was NOT trying to post any links or urls in my message, and even posted my message in another area to show this. Again, why it allowed me to post the message in the wrong area, I do not know.
    There were no urls or email addresses or http, or www, in my post. Nor was I violating any terms or conditions of the forum.
    Too bad too, because I could have really used some help with my sound card issue. But I was never able to get that help.

  7. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Shrimpton View Post
    There were no urls or email addresses or http, or www, in my post.
    None of these "@" were in your text, either?

    That's often what causes users not to be able to post their messages.
    oz

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    16
    Don't believe so. I had the whole post above, but it was edited, and probably moved to the proper section, I don't see it...

    I simply desribed my problem, and included a fix, that I needed help with. It was instructions on how to edit a file. There were no links of any kind in my message.

    I needed help with the content I posted.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    16
    Anyway, don't worry about it.
    My workaround, was to install a different version of the operating system. Ubuntu Studio 9.10 was too buggy for anyone to figure out. 9.04 detected my sound card fine, and now I'm all set.

    A lot of people are having M-Audio Delta sound card detection problems. I was hoping to be able to post a fix others could rely on, rather than scraping the whole os like I did.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    16
    You were right...
    I do see them. They weren't links, but your site thought they were...



    M-Audio Delta 44 sound card problems
    Hi,
    This is a persistent and very discouraging problem for a lot of Ubuntu Studio users.
    I am running a new installation of Ubuntu Studio 9.10 with an M-Audio Delta 44 sound card. Jack is running fine right out of the box.

    System/Preference/Sound Hardware tab shows ICE1712{Envy24}PCI Multi-Channel I/O Controller. Input tab shows the same. Output tab shows Dummy Output Stereo.

    My onboard sound card is disabled in the bios. And the alsaconf command is not found when I tried to configure alsa.

    I have tried this solution, by adding the last 2 lines to /usr/share/alsa/cards/ICE1712.conf

    **The reason pulseaudio right now doesn't work with this card is that it expects a front device that has
    only 2 channels.
    A possible fix for this is changing it's definition to:
    ICE1712.pcm.front.0 {
    ********@args [ CARD ]
    ********@args.CARD {
    ****************type string
    ********}
    ********type route
    ********ttable.0.0 1
    ********ttable.1.1 1
    ********slave.pcm {
    ****************type hw
    ****************card $CARD
    ********}
    ********slave.format S32_LE
    ********slave.channels 10
    }

    Nothing seems to be working.

    I also found the following potential solution, but unfortunately I am not very good with the programing side of Linux. If someone could clarify this for me, and point me in the right direction as far as commenting out module-hal-detect and module-detect, and even where to find the line, module detect, as I do not even see this when I open /etc/pulse/default.pa.
    Or if there is perhaps another solution...
    This is a HUGE problem for Ubuntu Studio users.

    Thanks in advance, and heres what I found:

    Automatic sound card detection isn't able to configure the
    Delta card correctly, the card seems to be a bit too exotic
    for that. So I'd say it's a HAL and/or PulseAudio problem.

    Since the configuration process succesfully manages to open
    the device - after much struggling - you probably can make
    it work with static device configuration. The thing that the
    configuration finally stumbles is that the channel map for
    the sink and source aren't valid. That's because there isn't
    a default channel map defined for 10 and 12 channels.

    So, what you'll have to do is edit /etc/pulse/default.pa.
    Comment out module-hal-detect and module-detect, and then
    add these lines (if you don't need the sources, leave them
    out):

    # Load the on-board device:
    load-module module-alsa-sink sink_name=intel-hda_out device=hw:0
    load-module module-alsa-source source_name=intel-hda_in device=hw:0

    # Load Delta 44:
    load-module module-alsa-sink sink_name=delta_out device=hw:1 channels=10 channel_map=left,right,aux0,aux1,aux2,aux3,aux4,au x5,aux6,aux7
    load-module module-alsa-source source_name=delta_in device=hw:1 channels=12 channel_map=left,right,aux0,aux1,aux2,aux3,aux4,au x5,aux6,aux7,aux8,aux9

    # Set the default sink and source (not mandatory, intel-hda
    # would probably be used without this):
    set-default-sink
    delta_out set-default-source delta_in


    That configuration makes Delta a stereo device, in the sense
    that if you play surround content, there will be sound only
    in the first two channels. If you want a surround setup (or
    want to have the stereo output on some other physical
    connector(), edit the channel maps. Valid channel names are
    listed in near the beginning of this page (under the "Device Drivers" heading):



    If you wonder why I didn't set the 'channels' argument of
    Delta to 2, that's because it seems that the device can't be
    opened for just two channels. The auto-configurator managed
    to open the device with 10 out and 12 in channels, that's
    why I'm using those values.

    This setup makes the assumption that the on-board device
    will always be hw:0 and Delta will be hw:1. This isn't
    necessary a valid assumption.
    End of solution

    So again, if someone could help me make sense out of this, or has a better idea, that would be terrific.

    Thanks

  11. #10
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Shrimpton View Post
    You were right...
    I do see them.
    Okay, then... I'll close this thread as solved and you can continue the sound card issue in your other thread regarding the issue.
    oz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •