Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Like Tree3Likes
As soon as I disallow scripts for LFdO I can post again but obviously very little works; I get none of the editing tools so have to manually enter the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,637

    Chromium browser with JavaScript enabled can't make posts


    As soon as I disallow scripts for LFdO I can post again but obviously very little works; I get none of the editing tools so have to manually enter the bbcode.This only seems to affect Chromium and yes, I've cleared the caches and so on.If anyone else can confirm this is an issue, I'll report it to the PTB.
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  2. #2
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,637
    It also strips all new lines out of my posts when I disable the JavaScript which seems strange
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer TNFrank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Crossville, TN. USA
    Posts
    914
    Personally I'd just switch to Firefox and be done with it. You can get a couple very cool add-ons for it like Self-Destructing Cookies and NoScript and surf the web very safely and click to allow javascript and keeping cookies on sights where you want to when you want to.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,637
    There is a weird Firefox, the Nvidia drivers and my graphics card. Surf a couple of pages and it is hitting 75 degress with the fan at over 70%. I'd switch to Midori in a heartbeat if it had noscript like functionality.

    I have reported this as further investigation revealed JavaScript errors in every page.
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,170
    Iceweasel?

  7. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Reported as in, via the contact us button? That and contacting chromium devs is all I could think of.
    Hope you get it worked out.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  8. #7
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,637
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Reported as in, via the contact us button? That and contacting chromium devs is all I could think of.
    Hope you get it worked out.
    Yeah, via contact us. I hadn't considered the Chromium devs as the errors relate to invalid values being used in scripts. I suppose it could be a bug in the engine.
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  9. #8
    drl
    drl is offline
    Linux Engineer drl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN, USA / CentOS, Debian, Slackware, {Free, Open, Net}BSD, Solaris
    Posts
    1,294
    Hi.

    I'm posting this from:
    Code:
    Distribution        : Debian GNU/Linux 7 (wheezy) 
    chromium-browser Chromium 27.0.1453.110 Built on Debian 7.0, running on Debian 7.1
    and I don't see any of the usual tools -- i.e. I also need to manually add mark-ups like code and no spelling assistxx . However, this is an odd connection through an older system's X-Window display.

    If I get a chance, I'll try the same thing natively on wheezy ... cheers, drl
    Welcome - get the most out of the forum by reading forum basics and guidelines: click here.
    90% of questions can be answered by using man pages, Quick Search, Advanced Search, Google search, Wikipedia.
    We look forward to helping you with the challenge of the other 10%.
    ( Mn, 2.6.n, AMD-64 3000+, ASUS A8V Deluxe, 1 GB, SATA + IDE, Matrox G400 AGP )

  10. #9
    drl
    drl is offline
    Linux Engineer drl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN, USA / CentOS, Debian, Slackware, {Free, Open, Net}BSD, Solaris
    Posts
    1,294
    Hi.

    This is posted from:
    Code:
    OS, ker|rel, machine: Linux, 3.2.0-4-amd64, x86_64
    Distribution        : Debian GNU/Linux 7 (wheezy) 
    Mozilla Iceweasel 17.0.7
    and still has no tools displayed.

    Interesting ... cheers, drl
    Welcome - get the most out of the forum by reading forum basics and guidelines: click here.
    90% of questions can be answered by using man pages, Quick Search, Advanced Search, Google search, Wikipedia.
    We look forward to helping you with the challenge of the other 10%.
    ( Mn, 2.6.n, AMD-64 3000+, ASUS A8V Deluxe, 1 GB, SATA + IDE, Matrox G400 AGP )

  11. #10
    drl
    drl is offline
    Linux Engineer drl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN, USA / CentOS, Debian, Slackware, {Free, Open, Net}BSD, Solaris
    Posts
    1,294
    Hi.

    I logged into The UNIX and Linux Forums - Where There is a Shell There is a Way and found that everything seemed normal there. I used chromium-browser and iceweasel just as I did for the previous two posts.

    I would say that the trouble is on LFdO. However, I am surprised that no else has complained, so perhaps it's something else.

    Currently, I usually use:
    Code:
    OS, ker|rel, machine: Linux, 2.6.26-2-amd64, x86_64
    Distribution        : Debian GNU/Linux 5.0.8 (lenny) 
    iceweasel Mozilla Iceweasel 3.0.6, Copyright (c) 1998 - 2009 mozilla.org
    and this combination seems to be fine.

    I am updating systems, and if the odd behavior continues, regardless of the reason, I'll be less likely to participate here.

    Best wishes ... cheers, drl
    Welcome - get the most out of the forum by reading forum basics and guidelines: click here.
    90% of questions can be answered by using man pages, Quick Search, Advanced Search, Google search, Wikipedia.
    We look forward to helping you with the challenge of the other 10%.
    ( Mn, 2.6.n, AMD-64 3000+, ASUS A8V Deluxe, 1 GB, SATA + IDE, Matrox G400 AGP )

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •