Find the answer to your Linux question:
Looks like another <snip> imposing some sort of power to give a quick response then close/lock the thread. Too bad I wasn't able to respond with a more tailored question ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Thumbs down Apparently, we have people that abuse power in this forum....

Looks like another <snip> imposing some sort of power to give a quick response then close/lock the thread. Too bad I wasn't able to respond with a more tailored question but was given the old "I'm an expert - look here/don't ask this question" response.

Other members with similar experience/advice to my post were also stripped of their right to respond.

Typical of all forums...unfortunately, we look to forums based on whatever topic/hobby we need help with - otherwise forums wouldn't exist.

Guess I'll go back to just lurking...

Thread in question:
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ins...tml#post453960
    Last edited by oz; 04-13-2007 at 10:23 PM. Reason: removed inappropriate comment

The question "which distribution should I use" is the single most common one on the forum, and 90% of the time the people asking these questions are either not willing to do the research needed or don't understand the fact that we simply cannot tell you what's "best".

The general rule for posts like this is to give a helpful link (such as the one in the poster's signature) and close the thread. This done for several reasons, the foremost being to discourage lots of piggybacked "me too!" posts.

This was not a personal attack on you. Your question was simply very broad and any number of distributions would work for your needs.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

As techieMoe mentioned, the number of "Which distro...?" questions is simply too great. Plus, most of them have the same answer.

Nevertheless, to answer some of your sub-questions.

Quote Originally Posted by llebcire