Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
First off, hi to everyone this is my first post anyways, im running fedora core 2 with the 2.6.6-1.435.2.3 kernal, a ti-4200 thats running the newest nvidia drivers and im ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    6

    warcraft 3 install - OS detect


    First off, hi to everyone this is my first post

    anyways, im running fedora core 2 with the 2.6.6-1.435.2.3 kernal, a ti-4200 thats running the newest nvidia drivers and im using wine version 20040615

    anyways, to my problem, i load up the installer for warcraft 3 but i cant install because im running "windows 95" and that its unsupported; they just dont let you install. this is what my wine.conf says under version though

    [Version]
    ; Windows version to imitate (win95,win98,winme,nt351,nt40,win2k,winxp,win2k3,w in20,win30,win31)
    #;"Windows" = "win98"
    ;"Windows" = "win2k"
    ; DOS version to imitate
    ;"DOS" = "6.22"

    can someone offer a suggestion?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    try changeing to win98 verison

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682

    Re: warcraft 3 install - OS detect

    Quote Originally Posted by Pathogen
    [Version]
    ; Windows version to imitate (win95,win98,winme,nt351,nt40,win2k,winxp,win2k3,w in20,win30,win31)
    #;"Windows" = "win98"
    ;"Windows" = "win2k"
    ; DOS version to imitate
    ;"DOS" = "6.22"

    can someone offer a suggestion?
    The ;'s and #'s are comments in the wine.conf. Uncomment the line that has the version you want to emulate.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    6
    i uncommented the line and tried emulating 98, 2k and xp and it still doesnt run. Are their other config files i need to modify or do i need to recompile wine or something? i mean, i make the changes, save the file and im good to go right?

  5. #5
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Should be. You can try a command-line arg to make it emulate another windows...wine --help will list it (can't remember atm).
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    6
    [root@pathogen cdrom]# wine --help
    Wine 20040615
    Usage: wine PROGRAM [ARGUMENTS...] Run the specified program
    wine --help Display this help and exit
    wine --version Output version information and exit

    thats all it shows me and the man pages didnt help me much either, thanks for the help though, keep the ideas coming cause its still not fixed lol...

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    5
    I haven't tried WC3 with out-of-the-box wine... but I have it running flawlessly with Cedega (formerly known as WineX) from http://www.transgaming.com

    Unfortunately it is not free, but it IS well worth it since it supports up to DirectX 9 and a wide range of games. You might want to give it a shot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •