Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello. I am quite new now to linux, in fact I just installed Linux openSuSe 10.2 2 days ago. I have been using Windows OS now for 5 years now ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problems with SUSE & Steam/Wine

Hello.

I am quite new now to linux, in fact I just installed Linux openSuSe 10.2 2 days ago. I have been using Windows OS now for 5 years now and I have a very good knowledge of it. As a matter of fact, i started hating windows because of the way it worked. I had to reinstall windows a couple of times because of system errors and it always had deffects. In fact, windows had put trojans and other spywares into the windows installer disks and my private antivirus would always recognize it. Anyway..

So i have been trying to figure out how to use Steam and COunterStrike:Source on my new Linux partition, since i am such a fan of the game
    After googling for half an hour I found some tutorials that could have helped me, but somehow the didn"t o0

Problem>

I have downloaded Wine for OpenSuSe 10.2 in the website of Wine.
    It automatically installed it when it was downloaded.
    Now, the tutorial said I had to run Wine. First of all i had to find it, it was hiding in /usr/bin/wine

I clicked the run button of wine and waited. After a while i repeated this process a few times and I was unable to run it at any time.. o0

Since I have somd cmd knowledge I could kindof open the console and put in these commands like: Wine, Winelauncher

Or cd wine first and then type Wine or Wine.exe ..

None of them worked. All I could launch was WineLauncher which just launched some instructions or configurations. I browsed through them and i did not find anything that could have helped me.