Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi I am running damn small on a p3-600mhz with aopen pg80/dvd card that has vid and svid out ports. the monitor works fine @ 800 x 600 but I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    97

    tvout for aopen pg80/dvd on damn small


    Hi
    I am running damn small on a p3-600mhz with aopen pg80/dvd card that has vid and svid out ports.
    the monitor works fine @ 800 x 600 but I do not know how to send out to tv
    can anyone help me get the vid out working
    what I would like to do is watch dvd on the tv and not lose the desktop monitor in the process
    thanks

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    97

    adding

    when I boot the computer the boot up text shows on the tv and monitor but the tv goes snowy as soon a X runs

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    97
    the idea is to drag a movie over to the tv as it is more comfortable on the sofa and be able to use the desktop as usual if someone needs to look up a word or check the mail..
    this card has vid out but if that is just a clone of the desktop...maby I need a dual head card?
    but the dual head means another monitor and the cable would need to be something like 20feet+..is that even possible...I have done the search but nothing on this card and how to make it work on dsl..>Oh well wishfull thinking...
    is dual head what I need and what is a linux friendly card...does some distro come with this feature...oh what ever

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    97
    ok back to the composite out on the pg80...I think I need to install xfree86 for starters but not sure what effect that will have on the system....maby this was not the best place for this post.... if so.. oops. would I need video4linux? whats the.deb name for that? or do I get that elsewhere? did not see it in synaptic but it may have been overlooked.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    97
    Ok...well.. I decided to install xfree86 which is v4.3 and should include xinerama, my primary card is ati rage 128 pro agp with viewsonic monitor..I added an ati pci card and ibm g40 monitor and the fx86 config-4 below
    the computer boots... boot text shows on the second monitor and then x boots on the primary but no dual monitors,
    is this an issue with the config file or something else?

    -------------------
    This is the xf86config-4

    # XF86Config-4 (XFree86 X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the XF86Config-4 manual page.
    # (Type "man XF86Config-4" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xfree86 package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xfree86
    # package.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following commands as root:
    #
    # cp /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 /etc/X11/XF86Config-4.custom
    # md5sum /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 >/var/lib/xfree86/XF86Config-4.md5sum
    # dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86

    Section "Files"
    FontPath "unix/:7100" # local font server
    # if the local font server has problems, we can fall back on these
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
    #FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/CID"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
    #FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "GLcore"
    Load "bitmap"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "ddc"
    Load "dri"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx"
    Load "int10"
    Load "record"
    Load "speedo"
    Load "type1"
    Load "vbe"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver "keyboard"
    Option "CoreKeyboard"
    Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection

    # This is a config for a generic imPS/2 wheel mouse. If you have a non-wheel mouse,
    # you will want to comment this out and use the other config below.

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Generic Mouse"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "CorePointer"
    Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "imPS/2"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    # This is the config for a standard ps/2 mouse. If you need to use it, comment out
    # the above config and uncomment this one. You may need to manually set the device
    # name to whatever your mouse is.

    #Section "InputDevice"
    # Identifier "Generic Mouse"
    # Driver "mouse"
    # Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    # Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
    # Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    #EndSection


    Section "Device"
    Identifier "ati technology inc rage 128 pf/pro agp 4x tmds"
    Driver "ati"
    BusID "AGP:1:0:0"
    Option "Bus type" "agp"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "ViewSonic Monitor"
    #HorizSync 28-50
    #VertRefresh 43-75
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "LeftScreen0"
    Device " ATI Technology Inc Rage 128 PF/PRO AGP 4x TMDS"
    Monitor "ViewSonic Monitor"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 1
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 4
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "ATI Technology Inc 264 VT [Mach64 VT] (rev40)"
    Driver "ati"
    BusID "PCI:0:0:0"
    Option "Bus type" "pci"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "IBM Monitor"
    #HorizSync 28-50
    #VertRefresh 43-75
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "RightScreen1"
    Device "ATI Technology Inc 264 VT [Mach64 VT] (rev40)"
    Monitor "IBM Monitor"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 1
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 4
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection


    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "xfree86 configured"
    Screen 0 "LeftScreen0" 1 0
    Screen 1 "RightScreen1" RightOf "LeftScreen0"
    InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
    InputDevice "Generic Mouse"
    EndSection

    Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "xinerama" "true"
    EndSection

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    97

    I give up

    Hmm..well maby the kernal does not support this kind of thing or is not enabled..unlikely I will get a walk through on gearing that up...I booted the ubuntu live cd on this old 650mhz box with 384 meg ram but it was so slow it did not inspire an install...and the posts I have read regarding dual monitors were as well received...the dsl forum has closed any global interest and I can not inquire or even view that so maby an old windows will dual monitor on this project box.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    97

    still playing

    Well ..naturally I can not stop playing around with linux...I did get dual monitors working..my config file needed to be cleaned up and I was useing an incorrect busID.. I found that although my primary would do 1024x and the second 800x both at 32 that I could only achieve 800x primary and 640x secondary at 24..this made xinerama less than desired but would allow me to open a movie at 50% and drag to and frow etc. I wondered if there was a means of containing the taskbar to one monitor as with xinerama it was streched with the wallpaper across both, and the 640x created, I think a dead space.. this could be turned off for better service less drag with just two monitors.. where I could have different wallpapers and open what ever on the second screen..the big issue with this system is that I installed wine to run a pinball game I liked to play and under xfree if I run the game the next time I boot it boots user and loads x as root under user and although I installed three times, three times I opened the stupid game and had the same thing happen..so I reverted to the old ...but hey it worked..and may work better if wine is not used...I post for positive end in the event someone reads this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •