Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
HI im new to linux...im looking for the best linux distributor for gaming..thx...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

best distibutor for gaming

HI im new to linux...im looking for the best linux distributor for gaming..thx

Linux Engineer
    Gentoo is imo the best gaming platform. it even has custom gaming kernels. Not only that but it is slick and powerfull in every other way imaginable!

In addition to that, its has the wonderful emerge feature so you dont have to deal with some of the ridicouluse dependancy list that accompany some larger games.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

Formerly Known as qub333

Just Joined!
    well i heard that gentoo is a little more advanced and not as a nice gui..im lookin for smething easy, yet for gaming

the part of gentoo that is difficult is the install, but that is not entirly true, with a copy of the provided handbook it is relativly painless. And once it its runnig the GUI is the same as all the other linux distro's. gentoo (one installed) makes life so easy that it is incredable. most distros will require you to run circles to find all teh dependacies required for a program and then find that the rpm is not for your distro, with gentoo even programs with long dependancy list (such as mplayer) as simple,
    Code:
    emerge mplayer
    will dl, compile, and install the entire thing.

Formerly Known as qub333

True there is no gui install, but if you can read and follow instructions, you can install gentoo. It's not as hard as people make it out to be. They have a very good install guide, and all you have to do is follow it step by step.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Linux Engineer
    if you search for an easy distro with gui (best of all i think) try suse 9.1.