Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
when i try to install enemy territory i get this [javier@localhost javier]$ '/home/javier/Desktop/et-linux-2.56-2.x86.run' bash: /home/javier/Desktop/et-linux-2.56-2.x86.run: Permission denied and then i log onto root and i get this [root@localhost javier]# '/home/javier/Desktop/et-linux-2.56-2.x86.run' ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    39

    I cant install ET


    when i try to install enemy territory i get this
    [javier@localhost javier]$ '/home/javier/Desktop/et-linux-2.56-2.x86.run'
    bash: /home/javier/Desktop/et-linux-2.56-2.x86.run: Permission denied
    and then i log onto root and i get this
    [root@localhost javier]# '/home/javier/Desktop/et-linux-2.56-2.x86.run'
    bash: /home/javier/Desktop/et-linux-2.56-2.x86.run: Permission denied
    what the hell am i doing wrong anyone help please

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast scientica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South- or "Mid-" Sweden
    Posts
    742
    try running this as you regular user:
    Code:
    su -c "/bin/bash /home/javier/Desktop/et-linux-2.56-2.x86.run"
    and enter the root password when asked for a password

    if you still get an permission error, please post the output of this command:
    Code:
    ls -l /home/javier/Desktop/et-linux-2.56-2.x86.run
    It'll help me/us to see if the permissions are wrong - if so it should be a simple command to fix it
    Regards Scienitca (registered user #335819 - http://counter.li.org )
    --
    A master is nothing more than a student who knows something of which he can teach to other students.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    New Waterford/NS, Canada
    Posts
    22
    have you tried running it like this?

    Code:
    sh /home/javier/Desktop/et-linux-2.56-2.x86.run

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1
    where do you put that code? in mozilla?.. im new to linux installed it on my laptop.. plz need help

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,892
    You do it all at a command prompt, i.e. in a shell window or a text console.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by scientica
    if you still get an permission error, please post the output of this command:
    Code:
    ls -l /home/javier/Desktop/et-linux-2.56-2.x86.run
    It'll help me/us to see if the permissions are wrong - if so it should be a simple command to fix it
    I'm putting my money on that one. Lots of downloaded installers aren't executable until you make them executable, and trying to run it will give a permission error.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •