Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
When using kaudiocreator it tells me to insert a disk, but there is already one in. Since audio cd's do not need to be mounted, do I think there must ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    256

    cd ripping permissions


    When using kaudiocreator it tells me to insert a disk, but there is already one in.

    Since audio cd's do not need to be mounted, do I think there must be an error in the set permissions. What do I set them to? Here's my /etc/fstab entry
    Code:
    /dev/cdrom       /mnt/cdrom       iso9660     noauto,user,ro  0   0
    --monkey

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    246
    Does it tell you that when you're root too? Maybe if you change "user" to "users"...

    Also, I think the device that /dev/cdrom points to might only be readable by the group "cdrom", so try adding yourself to that group.
    Situations arise because of the weather,
    And no kinds of love are better than others.

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    256
    Yes.

    That entry wasn't edited by me. Since it's not supposed to be mounted, I don't *think* it has anything to do with my fstab.
    Also, I think the device that /dev/cdrom points to might only be readable by the group "cdrom", so try adding yourself to that group.
    The group name is disk.

    I'll try changing its group to cdrom and see if it works.
    --monkey

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wherever the beautiful women are.
    Posts
    99
    I managed to sort out a similar problem yesterday. Instead of changing the group entry (I believe it's supposed to be 'disk'), go to the hdc file in the /dev/ directory, right click on it and select the permissions tab. Then type the name of your non-root user account in the user box.

    I hope this helps.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    you could change the fs type to 'auto' see if that helps. Audio CD's are probably not in iso9660.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •