Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I have linux Mint running on a pentuim 3 1000GHZ and the Graphics card is a AGP 8MB SIS 6326. When I view BBC Iplayer or any stream video it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    43

    I expect its the Graphics card !


    I have linux Mint running on a pentuim 3 1000GHZ and the Graphics card is a AGP 8MB SIS 6326.
    When I view BBC Iplayer or any stream video it is broken by a line and it misses frames, I believe it is probably that the graphics card isn't enoulgh for the job.
    As the mobo which is a GA-6VX7-4X takes a 4X AGP graphics card, will any that say 8X/4X be okay for the job ?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Which Graphics Driver X Server is using for your Graphics Card?
    Open Terminal and execute this
    Code:
    grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    I had no problem watching videos on my old p2 450mhz with an 8mb 1x agp card. Do you have problems with vlc or other video players? Of course, my p2 ran an optimized-to-hell LFS and did some things even faster than this core2duo 2.2ghz dell laptop with NVidia 8400 running Arch.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    43
    zmikeo@zmikeo-desktop-Mint:~$ grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Driver "kbd"
    Driver "mouse"
    Driver "wacom"
    Driver "wacom"
    Driver "wacom"
    Driver "sis"
    zmikeo@zmikeo-desktop-Mint:~$

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Press Alt+F2 and type this
    Code:
    gksu gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    It will open xorg.conf file in Gedit with root privileges.
    Replace Driver "sis" with "vesa". Save file and reboot machine.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Press Alt+F2 and type this
    Code:
    gksu gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    It will open xorg.conf file in Gedit with root privileges.
    Replace Driver "sis" with "vesa". Save file and reboot machine.
    Well the video seems to be better, but unfortunately the screen seems to have shifted to the left about an inch, so on the right I have a 1 inch black space.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    43
    I've just maximised the video and it still has the flickering.


    Have just revised driver back to SIS for now.
    Last edited by zmikeo; 04-18-2008 at 04:06 PM. Reason: addition

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Check the HorizSync and VertRefresh rates in xorg.conf file. Those values must be supported by your Monitor. Check Monitor's Manual for supported rates and edit xorg.conf file accordingly.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Check the HorizSync and VertRefresh rates in xorg.conf file. Those values must be supported by your Monitor. Check Monitor's Manual for supported rates and edit xorg.conf file accordingly.
    Cheers, shall look in to that later, but if I loose it when I maximise screen wouldn't a slightly better graphics card help ?

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    43
    Have no manual as it is an old 17" Belinea CRT, redid the code so am back to the off central screen, any ideas ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •