Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Everything was working fine, and then I rebooted to fiddle around with a LiveCD (which was able to play sound) and then upon booting back into my FC8 installation, gnome ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    72

    Gnome suddenly doesn't recognize sound card


    Everything was working fine, and then I rebooted to fiddle around with a LiveCD (which was able to play sound) and then upon booting back into my FC8 installation, gnome is giving me this error whenever I try to turn up the volume:
    The volume control did not find any elements and/or devices to control. This means either that you don't have the right GStreamer plugins installed, or that you don't have a sound card configured.
    I certainly have the right gstreamer plugins installed. I think it must be Gnome because the test in system-config-soundcard plays ("Soundcard Detection") plays fine. Any ideas?

    EDIT: When running as root, it works fine.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie bobescalin2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    167
    Please give more details! First try this:
    Code:
    #alsaconf
    If it`s not working please post back your reply for this:
    Code:
    #lspci
    Cheers!
    Registered Linux user #471256
    http://counter.li.org
    Don`t give up so easy...
    calin

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    72
    I don't have alsaconf installed, and I can't seem to find a download for it anywhere (I'm on FC8 ). I have the alsa-utils package installed though.

    lspci gives me this:

    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82P965/G965 Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82P965/G965 PCI Express Root Port (rev 02)
    00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Contoller #4 (rev 02)
    00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)
    00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
    00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 02)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev f2)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HB/HR (ICH8/R) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) 4 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) 2 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 7100 GS (rev a1)
    03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 01)
    (The emphasis is mine, of course)

  4. #4
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Fedora does not incude alsaconf. Try using system-config-soundcard.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by daark.child View Post
    Fedora does not incude alsaconf. Try using system-config-soundcard.
    In the OP I said system-config-soundcard detected the card and the test works, but I still am unable to play anything using any apps, unless I'm logged in as root. And its not a gnome issue because I still get the same problem under all my other environments.

    Edit: I take that back. Xine, Amarok, and I'm assuming other Xine based programs play fine. Banshee still can't however, and the volume control in Gnome doesn't work.

  6. #6
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Many people have had audio problems with Fedora 8. Try some of the fixes suggested here. Also search on google for "fedora+8+gnome+audio", for more possible solutions.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    72
    I've tried all of those, and I've followed instructions in many different threads on this. It seems to be a bug in some updated package, but no one is able to pinpoint which one. For now, I'll just run any audio programs as root until a fix comes out. Thanks guys.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •