Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I want to play this game i have and there does not seem to be a no-cd patch available,so i was wondering how can i mount an image file of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    14

    Mounting images so no cd is required.


    I want to play this game i have and there does not seem to be a no-cd patch available,so i was wondering how can i mount an image file of the cd,so its not required to be on the drive,when i decide to launch it.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    712
    Code:
    mount -o loop <disk image> <mount point>
    Changing the bits in <> to the relevant locations. You will need to be root to do this, but you can edit /etc/fstab to make this mountable/unmountable by normal users.

    Put the following in /etc/fstab
    <disk image> <mount point> udf,iso9660 loop,noauto,user,ro 0 0
    Then run

    Code:
    mount <mount point>
    Alternatively, drop the 'user' and change 'noauto' to 'auto' in the fstab and the disk image will be mounted every time you start the computer.

    Let us know how you get on,

    Chris...
    To be good, you must first be bad. "Newbie" is a rank, not a slight.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by kakariko81280 View Post

    Put the following in /etc/fstab
    How do i put it?I opened fstab with text editor,shall i copy paste it there?Actually i'm using gmount app to mount so i wont have to type image name and mounts,but i get the error that could not mount as user root,so i need to put the line somewehere.

    So shalli just paste it?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    712
    yep, edit the /etc/fstab file as root and paste that in on a line by itself. If you have problems, try it with the mount command in a shell so you can copy and paste the errors here.

    Let us know how you get on,

    Chris...
    To be good, you must first be bad. "Newbie" is a rank, not a slight.

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie bobescalin2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    167
    You can try also AcetoneISO it`s a great tool for mount virtual cd/dvd

    Cheers!
    Registered Linux user #471256
    http://counter.li.org
    Don`t give up so easy...
    calin

  7. #6
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Man they really want those PayPal donations...a button built into the app?!

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Córdoba (Spain)
    Posts
    1,513
    If you are talking about anticopy protected stuff, then you need to patch the exe file, no matter how you copy your cd, since the exe will continue checking for the in-disk-layout protection mechanisms, which are not going to be on the iso you make.

    If there's no copy protection, just make an iso and mount it using fuseiso. It's an userland tool, it doesn't need any root priviledges nor fstab configuration to be run, and it can mount many image formats besides iso.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South West England
    Posts
    91
    What about the copy protection if you copy the whole disk iso in RAW?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •