Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
As many of you know, and some of you may not, there is a Dos emulator that works with Linux called DosBox . Though I've been aware of it for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Fun playing old Dos games with DosBox for Linux!

As many of you know, and some of you may not, there is a Dos emulator that works with Linux called DosBox. Though I've been aware of it for quite some time, I've just begun to dabble around with it to any degree. Here are a couple of screens I made this morning of Tomb Raider:
    Screen one
    Screen two
    As with Wine, the DosBox site has a list of Dos games (many of which can be downloaded as freeware or shareware) and how well they work accordingly. Since I'm just getting into this (and it's great fun!) I thought I'd create this thread for DosBox games discussion. Anybody else playing around with DosBox?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

I was not aware of this or this site.

Thnx!!

Regards
    Robert

Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

Linux Guru
    Indeed, there are lots of dos based abandon-ware. And the vast majority of it runs without a glitch at all under dosbox (in fact, that's what people use to run them under windows xp as well, since they won't work on the native cmd.exe shell).

We can enjoy some classic games under this thing, and some other more modern ones (I am not sure what teh currect state of tomb raider is, though). Some of these have been freed by their creators, and some others belonged to enterprises that are now gone, so, in either case, they don't belong to anyone and we can freely use them as long as we can find them, of course.

There are lots os sites in the net, it's not worth even to save bookmarks. They are that abundant that google at any moment will gift you with thousands of links.