Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone. My name is Michael and I am new to this site but am loving it already and using it as my primary Linux/Unix source of information. First my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

[SOLVED] First Linux Gamming Rig, whats needed?

Hi everyone. My name is Michael and I am new to this site but am loving it already and using it as my primary Linux/Unix source of information.

First my background :

I am a PC technician with advanced knowledge of PC hardware and Windows OS. I have taken a small Linux class but that was just worthless. I have used Ubuntu over the years for your standard desktop PC. I also have some experience with Fedora.

On a scale of 1 - 10 10 being All knowing,
    I have a 3 understanding of the smb.conf file and making a system Windows Network ready,
    A 4 in the FS hierarchy,
    A 6 understanding of the synaptic package managers and the use of Debian based installations,
    And finally I have a 4 understanding of WINE and getting Win apps to run.

Second :

I build PCs (and do repairs) out of the house for a little extra income. Up till now I have used Ubuntu for my slower systems for the low overhead and the ease-of-use for the end consumer.

Right now I am building my first mid-range "gaming" Linux build and would love to have some help. I have narrowed the Disto to Ubuntu, Fedora, or openSUSE (I have no exp with SUSE). Also I have for some reason always had trouble with ATI restricted drivers so thats something I would love to have a lot of help in.

System Specs :
    • MOBO : NVIDIA MCP61S Chipset
    • CPU : AMD Athlon X2 4050e (45W edition, will be OC'd)
    • RAM : 2 x 512MB DDR2
    • VGA : HIS Radeon 2600 Pro 512MB GDDR2 PCIx16 (has the IceQ cooler)
    • HDD : 160GB