Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I'm using Fedora 8 Linux I'm wondering how to allow my screen resolution. I installed a driver for the Nvidia GeForce MX 100/200- the latest one. I'm wondering how to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! heyyeh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    71

    Post [SOLVED] Screen Resolution


    I'm using Fedora 8 Linux

    I'm wondering how to allow my screen resolution.

    I installed a driver for the Nvidia GeForce MX 100/200- the latest one.
    I'm wondering how to make it possible to get a resolution bigger than 800x600 even though that's all it shows on the dialog.

    I can change it if I knew how.

    Any ideas?
    Last edited by devils casper; 09-13-2008 at 03:13 AM. Reason: remvoed formatting tags

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Have you installed Nvidia driver?
    Execute this
    Code:
    su -
    rpm -Uhv http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-8.rpm
    
    yum -y install kmod-nvidia
    init 3
    nvidia-config-display enable
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined! heyyeh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    71
    Okay, so I installed it and used the videocard's configuration to resolve this issue, but no matter what:

    It returns to 640x480 everytime I reload my user.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the contents of /etc/X11/xorg.conf file here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined! heyyeh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    71
    # nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
    # nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder57) Wed Jul 2 12:31:37 PDT 2008

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout0"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from data in "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Unknown"
    ModelName "INZ C170"
    HorizSync 30.0 - 70.0
    VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName "GeForce2 MX 100/200"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Videocard0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 16
    Option "metamodes" "1024x768 +0+0; 1024x768_75 +
    Okay, that's the contents of my config file.
    Thus, for some reason everytime I reload my X server.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You haven't posted all the contents of xorg.conf file.

    It returns to 640x480 everytime I reload my user.
    What about other root user? Does resolution change on switching users?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined! heyyeh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    71
    Oops...My bad.
    Here's the rest of my file:
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    EDIT: By the way, I tried to use the driver config program but it resets as I restart my X server.
    Plus, the display wouldn't let me use anything higher for a while.
    Last edited by heyyeh; 09-14-2008 at 11:00 PM. Reason: Adding stuff

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •