Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I have recently installed Quake 4 via the command line in OpenSUSE 11.0: sh /path/to/game/quake 4.x86.run When I try to run the game, the computer says that I don't have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    20

    Exclamation Quake 4 --> no OpenGL?


    I have recently installed Quake 4 via the command line in OpenSUSE 11.0:
    sh /path/to/game/quake 4.x86.run

    When I try to run the game, the computer says that I don't have OpenGL. In YaST, I have installed OpenGL. What's the problem?

    plinders

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast meton_magis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    699
    what graphics card are you using, and did you install it's drivers?
    New to the internet, technical forums, or the hacker / open source community??
    Read this to learn good posting habits http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

    RHCE for RHEL version 5
    RHCT for RHEL version 4

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    20
    I'm currently using a NVidia GeForce 6200A-LE (256mb AGP card)
    I haven't installed the drivers due to this conflict in YaST:

    #### YaST2 conflicts list - generated 2008-11-19 18:25:32 ####

    nothing provides kernel(pae:vmlinux) = 19ac3fde1eb13345 needed by nvidia-gfx-kmp-pae-96.43.07_2.6.25.11_0.1-0.1.i586

    [ ] do not install nvidia-gfx-kmp-pae-96.43.07_2.6.25.11_0.1-0.1.i586



    #### YaST2 conflicts list END ###

    EDIT: I forgot to mention, Quake 4 says that it fails to initialize openGL.
    Last edited by plinders; 11-20-2008 at 07:15 AM. Reason: Missing information

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast meton_magis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    699
    I've never used yast before (i'm a redhat guy) so I can't help you with that problem, but i'm about 90% certain that you need to install your graphics drivers for it to work. OpenGL is an open standard, but it is implimented by the graphic card guys.
    New to the internet, technical forums, or the hacker / open source community??
    Read this to learn good posting habits http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

    RHCE for RHEL version 5
    RHCT for RHEL version 4

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    20
    I did install the Nvidia drivers, but no luck. It doesn't say that OpenGL needs initializing, but the terminal just quits when I try to start Quake.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •