Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I'm new to linux but........ Using Yast (suse 9.1) I've installed kaffine and updates as well as the latest xine player, heck i've even loaded up something called the ogle ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    10

    dvd player won't play with kaff/xine


    I'm new to linux but........

    Using Yast (suse 9.1) I've installed kaffine and updates as well as the latest xine player, heck i've even loaded up something called the ogle dvd player. None seem to be able to actually run a dvd without either dropping frames until crashing or just crashing straight out of the gate by not reading any disks. I can sometimes get the initial root menu screen to come up but then it just won't go any further. Is there some sort of config thing that i'm missing? I'm not familiar with ye olde command line, but I'll use it if led by the nose.

    My system is as follows
    P4 1.7ghz
    nvidia 64mb video card
    768mb RAM
    SUSE 9.1
    Artec dvdrom 16x

    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Do you have libdvdcss installed?

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    10
    yep libdvdcss 1.2. installed.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Drat! I thought that might be it...

    Try running it from the command line. Post the error you get.


    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    If youŕe dropping frames then maybe DMA isnīt set for your drive.

    As root hdparm /dev/hdwherever.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris H
    If youŕe dropping frames then maybe DMA isnīt set for your drive.

    As root hdparm /dev/hdwherever.
    whaaaa?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    7
    Problem. - won't let me use DMA?

    Code:
    root@ETHEL:~ # hdparm -D 1 /dev/dvd
    
    /dev/dvd:
     setting drive defect management to 1
     HDIO_DRIVE_CMD(defectmgmt) failed: Input/output error
    root@ETHEL:~ #
    The GUI also slows down when I copy stuff off CD?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •