Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi there, I followed the tutorial on the Ubuntu help site specifically made for this game (can't link it). However once installed the game itself won't run and was wondering ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14

    Problem Running Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory


    Hi there,

    I followed the tutorial on the Ubuntu help site specifically made for this game (can't link it).

    However once installed the game itself won't run and was wondering if anyone could help me make any progress on this.

    Console Log:
    Code:
    ET 2.60 linux-i386 Mar 10 2005
    ----- FS_Startup -----
    Current search path:
    /home/k508/.etwolf/etmain
    /usr/local/games/enemy-territory/etmain/pak2.pk3 (22 files)
    /usr/local/games/enemy-territory/etmain/pak1.pk3 (10 files)
    /usr/local/games/enemy-territory/etmain/pak0.pk3 (3725 files)
    /usr/local/games/enemy-territory/etmain/mp_bin.pk3 (6 files)
    /usr/local/games/enemy-territory/etmain
    
    ----------------------
    3763 files in pk3 files
    execing default.cfg
    couldn't exec language.cfg
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
    
    ------- Input Initialization -------
    Joystick is not active.
    ------------------------------------
    Bypassing CD checks
    ----- Client Initialization -----
    ----- Initializing Renderer ----
    -------------------------------
    ----- Client Initialization Complete -----
    ----- R_Init -----
    ...loading libGL.so.1: Initializing OpenGL display
    ...setting mode 4: 800 600
    Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
    XF86DGA Mouse (Version 2.0) initialized
    XFree86-VidModeExtension Activated at 800x600
    Using 8/8/8 Color bits, 24 depth, 0 stencil display.
    X Error of failed request: BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
      Major opcode of failed request: 1
      Minor opcode of failed request: 0
      Serial number of failed request: 41
    X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
      Major opcode of failed request: 18
      Minor opcode of failed request: 0
      Serial number of failed request: 42
    X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
      Major opcode of failed request: 18
      Minor opcode of failed request: 0
      Serial number of failed request: 43
    X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
      Major opcode of failed request: 8
      Minor opcode of failed request: 0
      Serial number of failed request: 44
    X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
      Major opcode of failed request: 12
      Minor opcode of failed request: 0
      Serial number of failed request: 45
    X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
      Major opcode of failed request: 18
      Minor opcode of failed request: 0
      Serial number of failed request: 48
    X Error of failed request: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter)
      Major opcode of failed request: 136
      Minor opcode of failed request: 7
      Serial number of failed request: 53
    X Error of failed request: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
      Major opcode of failed request: 154
      Minor opcode of failed request: 26
      Serial number of failed request: 53
    Received signal 11, exiting...
    Segmentation fault
    -Thanks.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14
    Can anyone help with the errors coming up in the startup?

  3. #3
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I don't play, but I did some Googling around.The main stuff that I came across mostly refer to either a problem in the program code (did you verify that it's a legit download? check md5sum?) or a memory issue. Try re-seating your RAM sticks.
    Also, I did find that one person used the following to resolve the issue:
    cd ~/.etwolf/etmain/profiles
    cp -r username username.old

    restart game, enter username.
    Hopefully you'll get something out of that.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14
    Hi Jayd!

    Thanks for the help, but unfortantely I'm getting the same problem. When I attempt to launch the game the screen goes black for about 5 seconds and then reverts back to the desktop but the resolution is changed, which is a little annoying..

  5. #5
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    The only other thing I can think of is possibly your graphics card drivers.
    What gfx card do you have? Are the correct drivers loaded?
    Code:
    lspci | grep VGA
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Post the output of both of those commands here. Use the [code] tags to make it easier to read, please.
    BTW, you mentioned that this is Ubuntu? What version is it?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    And while your at it, make sure OpenGL is working too.
    Code:
    glxinfo | grep direct
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14
    lspci | grep VGA
    Code:
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV370 5B60 [Radeon X300 (PCIE)]
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Code:
    # xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # Note that some configuration settings that could be done previously
    # in this file, now are automatically configured by the server and settings
    # here are ignored.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    #   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Monitor		"Configured Monitor"
    	Device		"Configured Video Device"
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Virtual	1280 1024
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    glxinfo | grep direct
    Code:
    direct rendering: Yes
    As you may have picked up from the above results, I'm currently running an ATI Radeon X300 series video card.

    I'm currently running Ubuntu 9.04.

    Thanks for all the suggestions.

  8. #8
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Have you already installed the ATI drivers for your card? There are instustions on this page:
    ATI Catalyst? Proprietary Display Driver
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14
    I attempted to do it when I first installed Ubuntu. I'll try again now and post in with results.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •