Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I seem to have an OpenGL issue and was wondering if anyone can help, please keep in mind that I am new to Liunx and might need some dumbed down ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    58

    Doom 3 Prob


    I seem to have an OpenGL issue and was wondering if anyone can help, please keep in mind that I am new to Liunx and might need some dumbed down answers sometimes. I have the game installed.

    Here is my error when I type in the command Doom3:

    5151 strings read from strings/english.lang
    Couldn't open journal files
    execing editor.cfg
    execing default.cfg
    couldn't exec DoomConfig.cfg
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    5151 strings read from strings/english.lang
    ----- Initializing Sound System ------
    sound system initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    ----- R_InitOpenGL -----
    dlopen(libGL.so.1)
    Open X display
    Initializing OpenGL display
    Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
    DGA DirectVideo Mouse (Version 2.0) initialized
    Free86-VidModeExtension Activated at 640x480
    Couldn't get a visual
    dlopen(libGL.so.1)
    Initializing OpenGL display
    Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
    DGA DirectVideo Mouse (Version 2.0) initialized
    Free86-VidModeExtension Activated at 640x480
    Couldn't get a visual
    idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
    Fatal X Error:
    Major opcode of failed request: 105
    Minor opcode of failed request: 0
    Serial number of failed request: 38
    BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
    Fatal X Error:
    Major opcode of failed request: 2
    Minor opcode of failed request: 0
    Serial number of failed request: 42
    BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
    Fatal X Error:
    Major opcode of failed request: 4
    Minor opcode of failed request: 0
    Serial number of failed request: 43
    BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
    Sys_Error: Unable to initialize OpenGL


    Any help will be taken gladly.
    Thanks
    Wavz

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496

    Re: Doom 3 Prob

    Quote Originally Posted by wavz
    5151 strings read from strings/english.lang
    Couldn't open journal files
    execing editor.cfg
    execing default.cfg
    couldn't exec DoomConfig.cfg
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    I've had this issue with other Id games, and it was usually due to my not having copied the correct PAK files off of the CD. Are you sure you have all the required files?

    pak000.pk4
    pak001.pk4
    pak002.pk4
    pak003.pk4
    pak004.pk4

    There's a Linux Doom 3 FAQ here as well:

    http://zerowing.idsoftware.com/linux/doom/
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    58
    So do you think I should go on to the CD's and copy and replace the files in the Doom3 base directory?? Because I did look into the installed files in my Home folder and all of those files are there.
    Wavz

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    If the files are there, you may want to check that the permissions are correct. I also got this problem when the files were left under owner "root" and marked read-only. Copying from CDs sometimes leaves the files without write permissions.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    58
    Just checked the files properties, all the files properties are the same:

    Owner : Can read & write
    Group : Can Read
    Others : Can Read

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    58
    Wooooooooooo Hoooooooooooooooo!!!!! Got it up and running!!!!!!!!!!! Had a little help form another forum. I didnt have my video setting @ 24 bit. Once I restarted the game was up and running. Thank you for all your help techieMoe!
    Wavz

  8. #7
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Of course. It's *always* the simpler thing... enjoy!
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •