Find the answer to your Linux question:
Well, besides my free software web project i am an electronic music producer When i was on windows i used (and am currently still forced to use) Fruityloops (or FL ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Music production on linux mdk 10

Well, besides my free software web project i am an electronic music producer

When i was on windows i used (and am currently still forced to use) Fruityloops (or FL Studio), but now when i completely switched to the free OS of my dreams i'd love to be able to do music production in linux.

So, i want some good music production programs such, actually, i would like a software package (comparable to FL Studio) that has a sequencer, mixer and maybe sampler with available synth, sound generators and plug-in modules.

I already tried to download and install some, like rosengarden, fluidsynth etc, but i never manage to complete the installation even when doing it all with RPM's which is pretty straightforward, but the problem is that it always asks for an additional library (dependacies).
    When i get that library it asks for another one, when i get the another it again asks for another one.. i feel like it could go forever like this so if it's anyhow possible to get one RPM with ALL libs needed already inthere it would be great.

Any suggestions?

Thank you
    Daniel

Linux Engineer
    If you're using rpm packages and installing using the urpmi package manager then dependencies shouldn't be a problem.

AFAIK, using a stock kernel in linux for audio work has it's problems. All to do with latency apparently. How much of a problem that may be with what you want to do I don't know.

Useful link here http://linux-sound.org/

and here http://www.linuxdj.com/audio/quality/

You may be interested in dynebolic, which is a live cd configured for audio/visual tinkering. http://www.dynebolic.org/
    Lansbury's Lido