Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 26 of 26
Originally Posted by Chris H Can you try running them from Gnome? Or have you enabled ALSA - OSS emulation? Same issue in Gnome, and yes....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris H
    Can you try running them from Gnome?

    Or have you enabled ALSA - OSS emulation?
    Same issue in Gnome, and yes.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    9

    audio issue on intel865gbf redhat linux 9

    All configured and still having a problem!!!!
    Get this message when I select Soundcard Detection from the menu :
    Vendor : Intel corp.
    Model : 82801EB AC'97 Audio
    Module : snd-intel8x0

    ERROR :
    [root@localhost root]# redhat-config-soundcard
    sox: Can't open output file '/dev/dsp': No such device
    -9

    Can anybody help me out here??

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    17
    where do I enter that command?

    in Wolf? or in Terminal as root?

    I tried it both ways and it won't work...

    Anyone know of a REALLY EASY fix for this?

    SnaveZ

  4. #24
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by SnaveZ
    where do I enter that command?

    in Wolf? or in Terminal as root?
    If you're referring to the "redhat-config-sound" command, you would run that from a terminal window while logged in as root. What doesn't work when you try that?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #25
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    ATL!
    Posts
    117
    ok, I've got the same problem too...

    Q3 has had sound for the longest time (never a problem for me) But doom3 is not so much fun when you're a deaf marine. (Seeing as sound cues are important in dark areas and for character chatter...)

    And I am running the AC97 stuff too... I'm thinking about going out and buying a $30 Sb live! card, but I'd still like to get onboard audio running.

    I kinda want to know what paramater is different in q3 that gives it the audio and not doom3

    Oh yeah: Mandrake 10.1

  6. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3
    Try this... It worked for Enemy Territory in SUSE.

    cd /dev

    mv dsp dspold

    ln -s adsp dsp

    you may need to chmod 777 adsp. I just run as root. I know it's bad, but it's just a play box. I don't know where adsp came from.. It may be a SUSE thing.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •