Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
On all film or TV type images, on all players, e.g. TvTime, MPlayer, the picture frequently gets turned into sort of roughly 4 horizontal bands, one above the other, each ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie lugoteehalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    232

    Films, TV picture divides into broad horizontal strips?


    On all film or TV type images, on all players, e.g. TvTime, MPlayer, the picture frequently gets turned into sort of roughly 4 horizontal bands, one above the other, each slighly displaced to the side relative to each other. This happens when there is a lot of change taking place in the image, or seems so.

    It is not really that serious a problem but I could do without it. Anyone any idea what is wrong. (twin core AMD, 4G RAM, fairly reasonable NVidea graphics card, "entry level games machine".)
    All power is violence; all power is evil.
    Money As Debt

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5
    Maybe your moniters refresh rate is low. Try increasing it under System-Preferences-Display. It should be atleast 75 Hz.
    If you cant select any higher frequency, try lowering the resolution of your moniter.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the contents of /etc/X11/xorg.conf file here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie lugoteehalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Post the contents of /etc/X11/xorg.conf file here.
    Code:
    # lugo put in next block.
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen         "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load           "dbe"
        Load           "extmod"
        Load           "type1"
        Load           "freetype"
        Load           "glx"
        #lugo Put in next line 'in order to fully support video overlay coming from the tuner card'.
        Load           "v4l"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "CRT-1"
        DisplaySize     493    260
        HorizSync       31.5 - 47.8
        VertRefresh     60.0
        ModeLine       "1360x768 +0+0" 82.98 1360 1400 1600 1736 768 770 772 808
        Option         "CalcAlgorithm" "UseFrameBufferTiming"
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    
    # lugo put in next line.
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce 8400 GS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "metamodes" "1360x768 +0+0; 1280x768 +0+0; 800x600 +0+0; 640x480 +0+0"
        Option         "RenderAccel" "true"
        Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
        Option         "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
        Option         "TrippleBuffer" "true"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth      16 
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
        Option         "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection
    Great thanks both.

    Vis xorg.conf, in fact it will not give 1360x768 on Debian Lenny, what I normally use. It will give it on Kubuntu. It uses 1280x768, and depth 24.
    All power is violence; all power is evil.
    Money As Debt

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Edit HorizSync and VertRefresh rates in Monitor section.

    Code:
    HorizSync       30 - 71
    VertRefresh     50 - 160
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie lugoteehalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Edit HorizSync and VertRefresh rates in Monitor section.

    Code:
    HorizSync       30 - 71
    VertRefresh     50 - 160
    Thanks, I'll do that. However VertRefresh is 60 full stop - I'm using a TV.
    All power is violence; all power is evil.
    Money As Debt

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie lugoteehalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Edit HorizSync and VertRefresh rates in Monitor section.

    Code:
    HorizSync       30 - 71
    VertRefresh     50 - 160
    Didn't work unfortunately. Also tried lowering the resolution and that didn't work iether.

    The vertical is fixed at 60 because it's a television instead of a proper monitor.

    The problem occurs when the camera moves iether horizontally or vertically. It is as though the different parts of the picture were slightly behind each other in time - suggesting things are too slow.
    All power is violence; all power is evil.
    Money As Debt

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie lugoteehalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    232
    Suspect it's a vsync problem, the picture is "shearing":
    vsync is not enabled. Why depends on your specific setup, in particular
    if you use multiple display devices it will usually only work on one,
    enabling composite extensions sometimes breaks it, 3D desktops often
    have a separate setting to en- or disable it, -vo xv and -vo gl usually
    try their best to enable it, others might not even support it.
    Anyone know how to enable vsync? (K desktop 3.5, nvidea, Debian Lenny)
    All power is violence; all power is evil.
    Money As Debt

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5
    related to this..
    http :// ubuntuforums org / showthread.php ? t=646356
    (i cant post urls.. so fix the link by removing some spaces..)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •