Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm quite new to Linux, so please bear with me. For security reasons, I am using sudo to run my browser in non-root "sandbox" accounts. Question: How can I make ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[SOLVED] make audio work with sudo?

I'm quite new to Linux, so please bear with me.
    For security reasons, I am using sudo to run my browser in non-root "sandbox" accounts.
    Question: How can I make audio work in this setup?

More details:
    Audio works fine when opening the browser in my normal user account, or when logging on to the other accounts and opening the browser there. But it does not work using sudo to run the browser in those accounts, though in other respects browsing is fine.

I'm running the most recent version of Mandriva-One with KDE-4 on a 32-bit machine. Sound is using alsa and pulseaudio.

What I've done:
    1. Have made some changes in permissions which are probably irrelevant to my question, i.e. set permissions so that I can read and write the sandbox accounts, but such that they cannot read or write my home directory or /media.

2. Relevant changes to sudoers file:
    Code:
    User_Alias  X_USERS = my-account-name

Defaults:X_USERS env_reset
    Defaults:X_USERS env_keep += DISPLAY
    Defaults:X_USERS env_keep += XAUTHORITY
    3. The script to open browser as the sandbox user:
    Code:
    xhost +local:sandbox
    sudo -u sandbox -H firefox -no-remote
    As mentioned, this works fine, except for audio. I get similar results in trying to use Firefox or Opera this way, or even VLC to play a local file. Typcially everything is fine until I try to play an audio file. The audio plays for a few seconds, then stops. Running in a console gives this result:

Code:
    $ xhost +local:sandbox   
    $ sudo -u sandbox -H firefox -no-remote 
    ALSA lib pulse.c:229:(pulse_connect) PulseAudio: Unable to connect: Connection refused