Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Hello once again guys, About 2 days ago I bought Amnesia: The Dark Descent and have been trying fruitlessly to install the game. I have been receiving some checksum errors ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    QLD, Australia
    Posts
    46

    Amnesia TDD md5 checksum error


    Hello once again guys,

    About 2 days ago I bought Amnesia: The Dark Descent and have been trying fruitlessly to install the game. I have been receiving some checksum errors and others but I had opened up a thread about it on frictional games website and haven't heard anything that has yet solved my problem (hence this thread). Now just to make things a little easier for all of us I will post the information so far gathered on the other thread.

    I have been using firefox to download the file and I have 13GB free space in my tmp directory.


    I bought amnesia the full version and downloaded it last night and received error in md5 checksums. After browsing these forums and google I redownloaded the game and got the same error. I redownloaded it a couple times from different sources and the same source and still kept getting the error. I read on another forum that saving a .sh file can corrupt and damage it, so when I downloaded it instead of choosing save file I chose open with kwrite. I used the sh command again and didn't get the checksum error, but I got an error saying could not find a suitable frontend.

    After that I decided to download the file on a windows computer, burnt it to a disk (and put it on a usb) and tried it on this pc and I got the md5 checksum error once again.

    Oh BTW here is the latest checksum error:

    Code:
    vikeyev@localhost:~> sh amnesia_tdd_1.0.sh
    Verifying archive integrity...Error in MD5 checksums: b1ecc3f2c9324dbe4c426447afb1f1a6 is different from e906c157d978a4d2899739c9d3a21667
    The correct MD5 of the whole file is this
    Code:
    md5sum amnesia_tdd_1.0_linux_1.sh
    1371d13237143b845e42968cee46002a  amnesia_tdd_1.0_linux_1.sh
    Here is the md5 output of all my downloads

    Code:
    vikeyev@localhost:/tmp> md5sum amnesia_tdd_1.0.sh
    ec43ae0dbeaa71e7f8a139b21ccb28ba  amnesia_tdd_1.0.sh
    vikeyev@localhost:/tmp> md5sum amnesia_tdd_1.0-1.sh
    92bfa4342a55ebf9bc506127e8ea2c24  amnesia_tdd_1.0-1.sh
    vikeyev@localhost:/tmp> md5sum amnesia_tdd_1.0-2.sh
    bc1d827202a0f79631926d78c3044e13  amnesia_tdd_1.0-2.sh
    vikeyev@localhost:/tmp> cd ~/
    vikeyev@localhost:~> md5sum amnesia_tdd_1.0.sh
    766d7433b50f9ca37166c72da19c990c  amnesia_tdd_1.0.sh
    vikeyev@localhost:~> cd ~/Download
    vikeyev@localhost:~/Download> md5sum amnesia_tdd_1.0-1.sh
    Any help you could give will be greatly appreciated, thank you once again for your time.

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Installer Issues- cannot find front end

    1. The game installer fails to find a frontend.
    The game installer itself requires that the 32 bit libstdc++.so.5 or libstdc++.so.6 be available in your system library path (usually /usr/lib). If the installer fails to find that library it will not load. If you do have those files and it still refuses to load, please post a thread with specifics about your linux distribution and setup.
    On the forum of Frictional:
    Re-download from the other server, to minimize the risk of it occurring again. Or try and use another method to download, like another browser.
    Try using wget, from a command line. You need to copy the address of the file and then type
    Code:
    cd /tmp
    Code:
    wget http://www.locationofthefile.com/filename.run
    The file will be in /tmp
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    QLD, Australia
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Installer Issues- cannot find front end



    On the forum of Frictional:


    Try using wget, from a command line. You need to copy the address of the file and then type
    Code:
    cd /tmp
    Code:
    wget http://www.locationofthefile.com/filename.run
    The file will be in /tmp
    I have all of the libs that are needed for the game and this is the output I get when I try wget:
    Code:
    vikeyev@localhost:~> cd /tmp
    vikeyev@localhost:/tmp> wget http://store1.esellerate.net/store/di.aspx?dl=6217007194825570525&t=B
    [1] 12600
    vikeyev@localhost:/tmp> --2010-10-03 23:22:54--  http://store1.esellerate.net/store/di.aspx?dl=6217007194825570525
    Resolving store1.esellerate.net... 209.87.181.211
    Connecting to store1.esellerate.net|209.87.181.211|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
    Location: /store/Error.aspx [following]
    --2010-10-03 23:22:55--  http://store1.esellerate.net/store/Error.aspx
    Connecting to store1.esellerate.net|209.87.181.211|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 1526 (1.5K) [text/html]
    Saving to: `Error.aspx.1'
    
    100%[======================================>] 1,526       --.-K/s   in 0s
    
    2010-10-03 23:22:55 (3.94 MB/s) - `Error.aspx.1' saved [1526/1526]

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Either that is not a valid URL or there is something wrong with it that won't let you download it.
    This is what I got from it.




    Code:
    more di.aspx\?dl\=6217007194825570525
    HTML Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
    <html>
    <head>
        <title>Error</title>
        <meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 7.1" />
        <meta name="CODE_LANGUAGE" content="Visual Basic .NET 7.1" />
        <meta name="vs_defaultClientScript" content="JavaScript" />
        <meta name="vs_targetSchema" content="http://schemas.microsoft.com/intellisense/ie5" />
        <link href="/store/Styles.css" type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" />
    </head>
    <body>
        <form name="_ctl0" method="post" action="Error.aspx" id="_ctl0">
    <input type="hidden" name="__VIEWSTATE" id="__VIEWSTATE" value="/wEPDwUKMTE0MDU0MjYzNg9kFgICAQ9kFgICAQ8PFgIeBFRleHQFlwFBbiB1bmV4cGVjdGVkIGVTZWxsZXJhdGUgZXJyb3IgaGFzIG9jY3VycmVkIG9
    uICdodHRwOi8vc3RvcmUxLmVzZWxsZXJhdGUubmV0L3N0b3JlL2RpLmFzcHg/ZGw9NjIxNzAwNzE5NDgyNTU3MDUyNScgYXQgMTAvMy8yMDEwIDc6NTQ6MjQgQU0uPGJyIC8+PGJyIC8+ZGRkENRsOLcuZtPiR27kNjX+Of6N9KA=" />
    
        <p>
            <span id="iErrorMsg">An unexpected eSellerate error has occurred on 'http://store1.esellerate.net/store/di.aspx?dl=6217007194825570525' at 10/3/2010 7:54:24 AM.<br /><br /
    ></span></p>
        <p>
            We apologize for the inconvenience. The eSellerate team has been notified of this
            error.</p>
        <p>
            </p>
        <input type="button" id="backbutton" value="Return to Previous Page" onclick="javascript:self.history.go(-1)" />
        <hr width="100%" size="1" />
        <img src="/store/Img/Powered.gif" alt="powered by eSellerate" />
        </form>
    </body>
    </html>
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    QLD, Australia
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Either that is not a valid URL or there is something wrong with it that won't let you download it.
    This is what I got from it.




    Code:
    more di.aspx\?dl\=6217007194825570525
    HTML Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
    <html>
    <head>
        <title>Error</title>
        <meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 7.1" />
        <meta name="CODE_LANGUAGE" content="Visual Basic .NET 7.1" />
        <meta name="vs_defaultClientScript" content="JavaScript" />
        <meta name="vs_targetSchema" content="http://schemas.microsoft.com/intellisense/ie5" />
        <link href="/store/Styles.css" type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" />
    </head>
    <body>
        <form name="_ctl0" method="post" action="Error.aspx" id="_ctl0">
    <input type="hidden" name="__VIEWSTATE" id="__VIEWSTATE" value="/wEPDwUKMTE0MDU0MjYzNg9kFgICAQ9kFgICAQ8PFgIeBFRleHQFlwFBbiB1bmV4cGVjdGVkIGVTZWxsZXJhdGUgZXJyb3IgaGFzIG9jY3VycmVkIG9
    uICdodHRwOi8vc3RvcmUxLmVzZWxsZXJhdGUubmV0L3N0b3JlL2RpLmFzcHg/ZGw9NjIxNzAwNzE5NDgyNTU3MDUyNScgYXQgMTAvMy8yMDEwIDc6NTQ6MjQgQU0uPGJyIC8+PGJyIC8+ZGRkENRsOLcuZtPiR27kNjX+Of6N9KA=" />
    
        <p>
            <span id="iErrorMsg">An unexpected eSellerate error has occurred on 'http://store1.esellerate.net/store/di.aspx?dl=6217007194825570525' at 10/3/2010 7:54:24 AM.<br /><br /
    ></span></p>
        <p>
            We apologize for the inconvenience. The eSellerate team has been notified of this
            error.</p>
        <p>
            </p>
        <input type="button" id="backbutton" value="Return to Previous Page" onclick="javascript:self.history.go(-1)" />
        <hr width="100%" size="1" />
        <img src="/store/Img/Powered.gif" alt="powered by eSellerate" />
        </form>
    </body>
    </html>
    Well the place I'm downloding it from, there is 3 buttons, 1 for mac, 1 for windows and 1 for linux and so I right click the linux button and then copy link. Could this be causing the problem? Is their a way around this?

  7. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Does left clicking make the download begin? If so, then there is probably no way around this unless you can find a different server hosting the file. Have you tried a different browser?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    QLD, Australia
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Does left clicking make the download begin? If so, then there is probably no way around this unless you can find a different server hosting the file. Have you tried a different browser?
    No actually I haven't but I'll give it a try now.

  9. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864

    Success!

    I downloaded the file and successfully extracted and began the install.
    http://store1.esellerate.net/store/d...4825570525&t=B
    That link right there, within Firefox.
    Code:
    sh amnesia_tdd_1.0.sh 
    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing Installer for Amnesia - The Dark Descent.............
    Uncompressing sub archive...............................
    Collecting info for this system...
    Operating system: linux
    CPU Arch: x86
    Nixstaller version 0.5.1, Copyright (C) 2006 - 2009 of Rick Helmus
    Nixstaller comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
    Nixstaller is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
    under certain conditions; see the about section for details.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    QLD, Australia
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    I downloaded the file and successfully extracted and began the install.
    PageNotFound
    That link right there, within Firefox.
    Code:
    sh amnesia_tdd_1.0.sh 
    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing Installer for Amnesia - The Dark Descent.............
    Uncompressing sub archive...............................
    Collecting info for this system...
    Operating system: linux
    CPU Arch: x86
    Nixstaller version 0.5.1, Copyright (C) 2006 - 2009 of Rick Helmus
    Nixstaller comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
    Nixstaller is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
    under certain conditions; see the about section for details.
    Downloaded using konqueror, didn't get the md5 error but I got the no suitable frontend error. Checked my usr/libs folder and I have libstdc++.so.6 and libstdc++.so.6.0.12

  11. #10
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Are you using 64 bit???
    Here is some known issues, do they apply to you??
    Here are a few known linux issues so far found from the Demo version of Amnesia.

    1. Game won't install with $TMPDIR mounted as noexec
    You either have to mount TMPDIR (usually /tmp) without noexec or run the installer with --target /path/to/other/tmpfolder and specify a folder that does not have the noexec mount option.
    2. Game won't run as when you don't have write access to game directory
    if you install Amnesia into a system directory the game will refuse to run as a normal user, as you do not have write access to the game directory. The current workaround is to install it in your home directory.
    There is a patch coming to fix this issue
    3. Open Source Drivers do not work
    Currently the open source drivers to not provide a complete GLSL 1.20 implementation.. So at this time you MUST use the proprietary NVIDIA or ATI drivers. If you want the open source drivers to support the game I would suggest supporting the Mesa3D and the driver projects to improve the OpenGL support.
    4. Poor performance with nvidia 6000 or 7000 series card ( may affect newer cards )
    Make sure xinerama is disabled as it causes a significant drop in framerate.
    5. Inability to set gamma on ATI cards or gamma too high on ATI cards
    It seems the ATI drivers are not supporting the X method used to set the gamma that is used by SDL_SetGamma, a workaround is to use the xgamma utility that should be available with your distribution to adjust the gamma.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •