Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
Well, this is a new one for me. Have you tried to reinstall pulse audio?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,512

    Well, this is a new one for me. Have you tried to reinstall pulse audio?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  2. #12
    Just Joined! TTIO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    80
    Yeah, I went through the repos and noted down the name of all of the packages I had installed with pulseaudio in the name. Then I did yum reinstall <all of those packages>

    I figured it might need a reboot or something, so just to be on the safe side I turned the laptop off, battery out, left it for a bit and then tried from a cold boot. Nothing

  3. #13
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,512
    Well, since it worked before, but not now, the thing is to figure out what happened between working, and not working...
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  4. #14
    Just Joined! TTIO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    80
    I think I did an update, but aside from that I don't know...
    When it stopped working, I didn't have my wifi working, so I still mainly used Windows.

    Might there be log files or something somewhere?

  5. #15
    Just Joined! TTIO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    80
    Could I use JACK to send the audio that would go to pulse to ALSA instead? Don't really know what JACK is supposed to do, but that sounds like the sort of thing...

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10
    Perhaps you should to install OS again, it's fast & safe. As I did,

  7. #17
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,512
    JACK is mostly intended for near-realtime audio processing tasks. Not really suitable for your problem. Just remember, in newer systems, you can't run a pulse output and alsa at the same time. There is a bug in the new ALSA libraries that disables the ability to have multiple outputs at the same time. You can have multiple pulse outputs, but not alsa or pluse+alsa. IE, if you are streaming audio with a player like VLC, using pulse, you cannot output an ALSA stream, such as a YouTube video in your browser.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •