Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Does anyone have any idea where I can find the demux plugin or some other way to get kaffeine to play wmvs? Every time I try to play one it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14

    Demux plugin & .wmv


    Does anyone have any idea where I can find the demux plugin or some other way to get kaffeine to play wmvs? Every time I try to play one it just says xine error-No demux plugin. This is on suse 9.1 running kde

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    On top of this kaffeine won't play .movs. It gives me an error in qtmlClient.dll which I know for certain I have. It is in the directory where I have xine set to find all of the win32 dlls, and it is the xine-essentials pack. Why would it give me these problems? Has anyone else had a problem viewing movs or wmvs with xine/kaffeine?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    i would advise using these codecs
    http://www.mplayerhq.hu/homepage/des...ad.html#codecs

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    they won't work either..

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Windsor, CO
    Posts
    656
    Then do yourself the favor of using MPlayer instead of Xine (MPlayer is one of the reasons I switched to Linux
    I know MPlayer supports wmv and mov files, so that should solve your problem.
    Emotions are the key to the soul.
    Registered Linux User #375050

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    ok then I have an additional question: are there any smaller gcc packages than 5gb because I don't have that much space and I need it to configure mplayer.

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Windsor, CO
    Posts
    656
    ??? gcc packages don't take 5GB... hell no single thing in linux does...
    just install the devel tools and headers from your distro cds, and you should be able to recompile it.

    If you just mean normal configurations, then just enter "man mplayer" for a listing of all the commands. You can make any of those settings permanent by adding them to the $HOME/.mplayer/config file
    Emotions are the key to the soul.
    Registered Linux User #375050

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    ok maybe the trouble I'm having is the installation process. Everything I'm running into requires that I compile and build the source and when I follow the instructions on the site it doesn't work right. Do you know of any rpms for mplayer?

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    also
    where on earth do I get make?
    I cannot find it anywhere and apparently it's necessary to build and compile stuff. I get the feeling its supposed to come with the OS but I type it in konsole and it says command is not recognized.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    What you (usualy) should be doing is untaring the file;

    then
    Code:
    cd {untared file directery}
    ./configure
    make
    su 
    {type root password}
    make install
    post any errors you get

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •