Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Guys i am new to linux but have tried many distros so far but many a places i have seen that many people install Nvidia graphics drivers , so ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Nvidia Drivers- Why do we need them on fresh installation

Hi Guys
    i am new to linux but have tried many distros so far but many a places i have seen that many people install Nvidia graphics drivers , so i have few questions:
    1. after installing say fedora or ubuntu why do i need to install Nvidia->enhance graphics of desktop or games.
    2. Is Nvidia bydefault supported on fresh install or have to install it after installing LinuxDistro.
    2.i got i think Geforce 6000 series nVidia logo on my laptop so do i have to install it by myself and what capabilities will be enhanced.

Thanking You.

oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by akmonlinuxforums View Post
    Hi Guys
    i am new to linux but have tried many distros so far but many a places i have seen that many people install Nvidia graphics drivers , so i have few questions:
    1. after installing say fedora or ubuntu why do i need to install Nvidia->enhance graphics of desktop or games.
    2. Is Nvidia bydefault supported on fresh install or have to install it after installing LinuxDistro.
    2.i got i think Geforce 6000 series nVidia logo on my laptop so do i have to install it by myself and what capabilities will be enhanced.
    The official nvidia drivers are proprietary software so they usually are not directly included with Linux distributions because of licensing issues, but have to be installed later. You can try open source drivers such as the nouveau drivers if you prefer not to use proprietary drivers.
    oz

Just Joined!
    Thanks...but pls answer as per my points mentioned otherwise i am going to be confused.