Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By rokytnji
So I've recently acquired an old laptop which I'm trying to set up as a TV computer. The previous owner was about to throw it out since it wasn't able ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Making a TV Computer

So I've recently acquired an old laptop which I'm trying to set up as a TV computer. The previous owner was about to throw it out since it wasn't able to handle windows anymore. I've always felt it's better to try to make use of old hardware, especially if it still works. I've tried a number of lightweight Linux distros with it but nothing has really worked too well yet, and I'm looking for some feedback from people more knowledgeable. I'm pretty new to the world of Linux but I've got most of the basics down.

System Specs:
    CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2.66Ghz
    RAM: 449mb
    HD: 54gb

What I want to do with it is watch videos on sites like Youtube and Netflix, as well as sending and receiving email via Gmail. The computer is about 10 years old, so it's possible the hardware may be the problem, but I'm not sure. If the hardware is the problem there's probably not much I can do since it's an old HP laptop and it looks like everything is integrated.

I've got DSL (Damn Small Linux) running on it now and it's good and fast, but I can't find a browser for DSL that can handle Youtube and other sites that require Flash. If any of you have more experience with DSL and know of such a browser, let me know and I'll give it a try. I've also tried Lubuntu, but it runs too slowly, and so does Puppy Linux. I've also tried Crunchbang, and it's not as slow as Lununtu or Puppy, but it is still slow, and if there's a better option, I want to try it.