Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am completely new to blu ray. I have only two blu ray discs -- Brave and Thor: The Dark World. Both are recent discs. I have only one blu ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Blu Ray playback won't work - Missing Keys error?

I am completely new to blu ray. I have only two blu ray discs -- Brave and Thor: The Dark World. Both are recent discs.

I have only one blu ray drive, which seems to be functional. I have no standalone player.

I followed the directions here:

How To Get Encrypted Blu-Rays Working In VLC ~ Web Upd8: Ubuntu / Linux blog

apt-get install vlc libaacs0 libbluray-bdj libbluray1
    download http://vlc-bluray.whoknowsmy.name/files/KEYDB.cfg to ~/.config/aacs/KEYDB.cfg

(I'm using Debian Wheezy, and added Deb Multimedia Packages::Home to my sources.list to get DVD playback etc working.)

The error I get is:

Blu-Ray error:
    Your system AACS decoding library does not work. Missing keys?
    Your input can't be opened:
    VLC is unable to open the MRL 'bluray:///media/MARVELS_THOR_THE_DARK_WORLD_3D%1F'. Check the log for details.

On the console, the error is:

kuo@elsa:~$ vlc
    VLC media player 2.0.6 Twoflower (revision 2.0.6-0-gbe9623c)
    [0x94a108] main libvlc: Running vlc with the default interface. Use 'cvlc' to use vlc without interface.
    libaacs: libaacs/aacs.c:198: Error calculating media key. Missing right processing key ?
    [0x1056718] libbluray demux: First play: 0, Top menu: 0
    HDMV Titles: 45, BD-J Titles: 3, Other: 3
    [0x1039b18] main input error: open of `bluray:///media/MARVELS_THOR_THE_DARK_WORLD_3D%1F' failed

The error is basically the same with the other disc, Brave.

From what I've read, I'm guessing that these keys only work with older blu ray discs? Does that mean I'm out of luck?
    Isaac Kuo, ICQ 29055726 or Yahoo mechdan

Just Joined!
    Yeah bluray and linux are not on good terms.