Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
I have installed mplayer, using the rh9 packages, however the documentation says nothing about how to install the gui version (gmplayer) there are some command options but nothing for rh9 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! fireman2904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    18

    how to compile gmplayer for rh9


    I have installed mplayer, using the rh9 packages, however the documentation says nothing about how to install the gui version (gmplayer) there are some command options but nothing for rh9 packages. I assumed it was already included in the packages but when i run the command: whereis gmplayer i find nothing. anyone there that can help me? also, for those familiar with mplayer, how do i get it to start-up and stay on the lower left hand corner of my screen? i was able to change the size of the display, but it run in the center of the screen, i am able to move it but when it plays the next mpg file on the playlist it goes back to the center of the screen.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calcutta, India
    Posts
    220
    seems to me as if you have not installed mplayer-gui package

    visit this site : http://sunsite.icm.edu.pl/pub/linux/greysector/mplayer/

    this site has everything you need to have a complete MPlayer, btw, the new version has NO separate mplayer-gui package, both the cmd line mplayer and gui mplayer ( or gmplayer ) have been packaged in the mplayer package.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! fireman2904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    18
    thats the very same package i have installed. mplayer-1.0pre6-1.i386.rpm and installed it using the command rpm -Uvh mplayer-1.0pre6-1.i386.rpm

  4. #4
    Just Joined! fireman2904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    18
    If i have the right package, then im doing something wrong to get the gui version to lunch..what am i missing?

  5. #5
    Just Joined! fireman2904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    18
    here is what i get when i add gmplayer to the command line:

    [lostrebelx@lostrebelx lostrebelx]$ mplayer gmplayer
    MPlayer 1.0pre6-RPM-3.2.2 (C) 2000-2004 MPlayer Team
    CPU: Intel Pentium 4/Xeon Willamette (Family: 8, Stepping: 2)
    Detected cache-line size is 64 bytes
    CPUflags: MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
    Compiled with runtime CPU detection - WARNING - this is not optimal!
    To get best performance, recompile MPlayer with --disable-runtime-cpudetection.

    Warning unknown option cache_min at line 144
    Warning unknown option cache_prefill at line 147

    Linux RTC init error in ioctl (rtc_irqp_set 1024): Permission denied
    Try adding "echo 1024 > /proc/sys/dev/rtc/max-user-freq" to your system startup scripts.
    Playing gmplayer.
    File not found: 'gmplayer'
    Failed to open gmplayer

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Don't type "mplayer gmplayer", type just "gmplayer"

  7. #7
    Just Joined! fireman2904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    18
    thats the problem from the begining, i get the following:

    bash: gmplayer: command not found

    ps: thanks for your patiente

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calcutta, India
    Posts
    220
    oops .. sorry to have harrassed you ...
    its not the mplayer-gui package but the mplayer-common package thts not nemore.
    You HAVE TO install mplayer-gui rpm ..
    its available on the site

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calcutta, India
    Posts
    220
    you should ideally have these rpms installed (at least) :

    mplayer-1.0pre6-1
    mplayer-gui-1.0pre6-1
    mplayer-skin-default-1.4-1
    mplayer-codecs-essential-20041107-1

    maybe
    mencoder-1.0pre6-1

    as well ...

  10. #10
    Just Joined! fireman2904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    18
    some of these packages i get "compiler not found" error or incorrect compiler error for gc..gcc and so on..

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •