Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
K- lemme see if I've got this right: To play doom 3 on linux 1. Go to store and buy Windows Doom 3 2. Go to ID ftp site and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    ATL!
    Posts
    117

    Doom3


    K- lemme see if I've got this right:

    To play doom 3 on linux

    1. Go to store and buy Windows Doom 3
    2. Go to ID ftp site and DL Doom 3 Client
    3. Run client and it's a go?

    that seems too easy to me, is there a catch i'm missing?

    Cause that's outright simple.

    Do all games released on linux work similar to this?

  2. #2
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Not really.

    Here this might help you though..........

    Playing Doom 3 on Linux (with WineX)

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    Doom 3 has a Linux port. No need for Wine.
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  4. #4
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by retired1af
    Doom 3 has a Linux port. No need for Wine.
    And what if you have the Windows port of Doom 3 and want to use it on Linux? Are you gonna buy another game? No. It's also hard to find the Linux port in stores. You might have to order it online.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard_The_Lionhearted
    Quote Originally Posted by retired1af
    Doom 3 has a Linux port. No need for Wine.
    And what if you have the Windows port of Doom 3 and want to use it on Linux? Are you gonna buy another game? No. It's also hard to find the Linux port in stores. You might have to order it online.
    Richard, the Linux client is free. You download it from here. You do not need to buy a special "linux version". If you have the Windows boxed version, you use that set of CDs to copy the data into the appropriate folders and install the Linux client. As retired1af said, there's no reason to run it in Cedega.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496

    Re: Doom3

    Quote Originally Posted by afroguy013
    K- lemme see if I've got this right:

    To play doom 3 on linux

    1. Go to store and buy Windows Doom 3
    2. Go to ID ftp site and DL Doom 3 Client
    3. Run client and it's a go?

    that seems too easy to me, is there a catch i'm missing?

    Cause that's outright simple.

    Do all games released on linux work similar to this?
    You're absolultely correct and you're not missing anything. The only step you're missing is copying the data from the Windows CD after you install the Linux client. There are directions here. Sadly, only a few game companies make it this easy (or make Linux clients at all). That may change in the future. We can only hope.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    yeah, i wanna see Football Manager on Linux

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    ATL!
    Posts
    117
    Thank you TechieMoe that was exactly what I wanted to hear!!

    I can't believe it took me that long to figure it out tho...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •