Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys. I am a proud newbie, got my first gentoo linux distro running (with lots of time and help from google), except for one thing... TV output. I would ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

watch movies with Linux on your TV while doing something else

Hi guys. I am a proud newbie, got my first gentoo linux distro running (with lots of time and help from google), except for one thing... TV output.

I would like to know how other users have configured their TV outs for watching movies. I know this topic has been partially touched in the past, but haven't found a good answer for it.

Problem: I wanna watch movies on my TV using the out from my Geforce card. Have Nvidia (with nvidia drivers and all) installed and running.

Options I've found from other people:
    1) Use xinearama mode, and set display on the right to output on TV. I don't like this option because if not using the TV out, your mouse can get lost on the TV out display. I don't wanna have this extra display there the whole time. I want my mouse pointer to not cross the PC monitor boundary.

2) Clone the monitor on the TV. I don't like this option 'cause you need to have your movie full screen on your monitor. In addition, I am not shure if having different resolutions on the monitor and TV allows you to clone.

3) Having two X-servers. This is OK, in the sense that your mouse doesn't get lost like in case (1) but you can only have one screen at the time (only CRT or TV, not both).

What I would like, is at least my old Windows solution. This was: pressing Ctr-Alt-something turns on the TV out, another combination turns it off. Then, I just open a window using powerDVD, zoomplayer, etc, and even if I have the video in a small windows in the monitor, it goes full screen on my TV out. This allows my roomate to watch a movie on my TV while I do something else.