Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
i got the doom 3 demo and it all installed nicely until i came to playing it. Code: X..GL_NV_register_combiners not found X..GL_EXT_stencil_two_side not found X..GL_ATI_separate_stencil not found X..GL_ATI_fragment_shader not found ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793

    firgging doom 3 demo


    i got the doom 3 demo and it all installed nicely until i came to playing it.

    Code:
    X..GL_NV_register_combiners not found
    X..GL_EXT_stencil_two_side not found
    X..GL_ATI_separate_stencil not found
    X..GL_ATI_fragment_shader not found
    X..GL_ATI_text_fragment_shader not found
    X..GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object not found
    X..GL_ARB_vertex_program not found
    X..GL_ARB_fragment_program not found
    X..EXT_depth_bounds_test not found
    ---------- R_NV20_Init ----------
    Not available.
    ----------- R200_Init -----------
    Not available.
    ---------- R_ARB2_Init ----------
    Not available.
    ---------- R_Exp_Init -----------
    Disabled at compile time.
    ---------------------------------
    ----- R_ReloadARBPrograms -----
    glprogs/test.vfp: GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/test.vfp: GL_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/interaction.vfp: GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/interaction.vfp: GL_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/bumpyEnvironment.vfp: GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/bumpyEnvironment.vfp: GL_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/ambientLight.vfp: GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/ambientLight.vfp: GL_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/shadow.vp: GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/R200_interaction.vp: GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/nv20_bumpAndLight.vp: GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/nv20_diffuseColor.vp: GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/nv20_specularColor.vp: GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/nv20_diffuseAndSpecularColor.vp: GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/environment.vfp: GL_VERTEX_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    glprogs/environment.vfp: GL_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM_ARB not available
    -------------------------------
    WARNING: vertex array range in virtual memory (SLOW)
    signal caught: Segmentation fault
    si_code 1
    Trying to exit gracefully..
    Shutting down sound hardware
    idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
    it seems to be missing a lot of stuff
    i really want to get this working so that i know how to get doom 3 running if i decide to get it. the hardware is definitely good enough as i have got the windows version running (on minimum settings).
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    I've never tried the demo, but from the error messages it looks like it's having trouble with your video card. What brand/model is it? Are your 3D accelerated drivers installed correctly?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    i'm using an nvidia geforce fx5200 (i think). well i know it's an FX card anyway.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by d38dm8nw81k1ng
    i'm using an nvidia geforce fx5200 (i think). well i know it's an FX card anyway.
    Hmm.. I've run full Doom 3 on an FX5700LE before... Any FX card should be able to run it, with some details turned off of course. Come to think of it, I was also able to run the full game on an old Geforce 4 ti4200, so you should be in good shape.

    As for the demo acting up, I'm not really sure what's going on there. Stick around, maybe someone else knows more than me.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Did you install nVidia's proprietary drivers? If not, then that's most likely the explanation.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    i used the nVidia drivers from the YaST Online Update. so i don't know.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  7. #7
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by d38dm8nw81k1ng
    i used the nVidia drivers from the YaST Online Update. so i don't know.
    One way to tell if they're working is to open up a console and launch glxgears. It will give you a readout of frames per second. If your FPS is better than 1000, your 3D drivers are working properly.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    hmph, just under 1000. it was over 1000FPS before.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by d38dm8nw81k1ng
    hmph, just under 1000. it was over 1000FPS before.
    Can you run other 3D accelerated games, like TuxRacer or Chromium?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    yup, i can run chromium fine. and neverwinter nights runs well on good draphical detail.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •