Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Linux and feel really dumb. I can't get any sounds to work on Linux. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong. It says there is no sound ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Sound Help

I'm new to Linux and feel really dumb. I can't get any sounds to work on Linux. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong. It says there is no sound card detected but I know I have a sound card. I need help please....

(the following only works if you use ALSA and not OSS)
    If your sound isn't wokring the most likely causes are:
    - your sound is muted.
    - your soundcard isn't detected.

Shortcut:
    Some distibutions have automatic configuration tools that can do Step 1-3
    for you. This command is usually
    Code:
    # alsaconfig
    or as in Red Hat:
    Code:
    # sndconfig
    Step 1: Find out what soundcard you have
    The first thing you have to do to be able to fix this is to find out what soundcard you have. This can easily be done by opening the console an typing in the command:
    Code:
    # lspci | grep -i audio
    This command should display what PCI souncard(s) you have in your computer.
    To find USB soundcards you'll have to run another command that checks if the computer can find any device that is connceted through USB:
    Code:
    # dmesg | grep -i usb
    Step 2: Find out what driver your soundcard uses
    The easiers way to find out what driver your soundcard uses it to Google for it. When you find out what driver your soundcard uses you can now go on to the next step.

Step 3: Probing for your driver
    In some cases your driver is already probed, to find out run:
    Code:
    # lsmod
    If you can find the name of your driver there you can skip this step and go on to Step 4.

To find out what drivers you have on your system that you can probe you can run:
    Code: