Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
OK... I'm really new to linux. I have read thread after thread and tried to type the code just the way it is written. I don't know why but none ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

installing in suse??

OK... I'm really new to linux. I have read thread after thread and tried to type the code just the way it is written. I don't know why but none of it works. I have found out if I just download an rpm into my /home/<username>/documents folder all I have to do is right click on the rpm file icon. this pulls up another window and I select install with YAST. Yast does the rest... So can anyone please tell me why that works but typing in the code doesn't?? and also, is there a reason why I shouldn't install that way?? I have tried many times to install a "tar.gz." but no luck.

Linux Enthusiast
    Hi,

To install a .tar.gz file, you unzip it, with tar zxjf <filename> and then look into the folder that it creates to see the instructions, sometimes it just contains a .exe file, and sometimes you have to ./configure, make, su, make install.

Linux Newbie
    I tried that. do you have to type the entire name.. <filename.tar.gz> or just the filename? I tried filename and got an error. I went step by step by the instructions in the forum here.. I need to find someone close by to tutor me...

Linux User
    You should be typing in the entire name, so it would look like so:

Code:
    tar -xzvf filename.tar.gz
    By the way, what is it that you are trying to install?

Linux Newbie

installs in suse

I have tried a few linux games from different web sites, an update for xine to play dvd's, etc... Really I just am trying to figure it out..