Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
why can't i play ut2003 on my pc?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    5

    tnt2 riva model 64 and ut2003


    why can't i play ut2003 on my pc?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    85
    err....TNT2....

    I think your GPU is well below the minimum specs....you will probably need to get a new graphics card to play it. Also...is this in linux or windows?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by SpaceSquad
    err....TNT2....

    I think your GPU is well below the minimum specs....you will probably need to get a new graphics card to play it. Also...is this in linux or windows?
    You are correct. Not only does UT2003 require at least a 64MB video card (the TNT2 is 32MB if I'm not mistaken), the TNT2 is so old the Nvidia 3D acceleration drivers no longer support it.

    UT2003 Minimum Specs
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    ive ran ut2003 on a tnt2 graphics card before

    unfortunatly, it was under windows not Linux.
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  6. #5
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by Weedman
    ive ran ut2003 on a tnt2 graphics card before

    unfortunatly, it was under windows not Linux.
    Well, regardless of whether or not it can be done, the point is it shouldn't, IMO. The framerates you got couldn't have been anything decent and you would have had to turn the quality of the graphics down to the very bare minimum. That's just not a desireable way to play the game to me.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    IMO, ut2004 works better on that card than ut2003 does.

    oh well, i upgraded my tnt2 to a radeon 9600XT 256mb

    [note above: i should have bought a nvidia card, not an ati]

    yes, a tnt2 with ut2003 should not be tried unless your desperate for ut. I think it almost made me sick after playing ut on a tnt2.
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    85
    I wouldn't dream of playing pretty much any 3d game on my TNT 2 16meg...even if it was like 256meg (I know they dont make them), it would still be unplayable. The card is just too damn old.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Nth Richmond, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    37
    everyone knows that you don't run UT2K3 on a tnt 2, i did once and it looked all blocky that was only the demo and on windows.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •