Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I'm running FC4 on an Atlhon 64 3500 with a gig of RAM and a GeForce 6200 (128 mb) graphics card. For various reasons I had to uninstall and reinstall ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    29

    Quake II only runs if I'm root


    I'm running FC4 on an Atlhon 64 3500 with a gig of RAM and a GeForce 6200 (128 mb) graphics card.

    For various reasons I had to uninstall and reinstall Quake II (I'm using the Loki native Linux version). Previously I could run Quake II as a normal user. Now I find I can only run the game if I have root privileges.

    If I run Quake II as a mortal user I get the following response:

    Code:
    ------- Loading ref_sdlgl.so -------
    LoadLibrary("./ref_sdlgl.so")
    rfx_gl version: GL 0.01
    Using libGL.so for OpenGL...setting mode 3: 640 480
    Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
    Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
    Cmd_RemoveCommand: joy_advancedupdate not added
    recursive shutdown
    Error: (SDLGL) SDL SetVideoMode failed: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
    But running it as root (su) presents no problems. Naturally I don't want to run anything as root if I don't have to. I have edited the /usr/local/games/quake2/quake2.sh to reflect the fact that I have an AMD Athlon 64 but it makes no difference. I should say that I have today installed the nvidia graphics card driver.

    I'm sure there is a simple answer to this, I just can't work it out. Could it be that I need to change permissions on a file somewhere? Is it because I installled the nvidia drivers? Could the culprit be global warming?

    Cheers,

    Matty the Damned

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    12
    Try to give users write privilege on your your video card device:
    Code:
    chmod 0777 /dev/dri/card0

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    29
    Thanks muchly! I shall try that out and report back.

    I appreciate your advice.

    MtD

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    29
    This is a bit embarrassing. I mean you wouldn't think I've been using linux since 1999. I can recompile the kernel but I cannot for the life of me work out what the name of my video card/driver is in the /dev directory.

    I must have examined the /dev directory about eleventy squillion times but with no luck. Can anyone tell me what it might be called?

    As I said above:

    I'm running FC4 on an Atlhon 64 3500 with a gig of RAM and a GeForce 6200 (128 mb) graphics card.
    Kind regards,

    MtD

  5. #5
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Try lspci

    That should give you an idea of which driver.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    29
    Hehehehe,

    Well after making a small edit to my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file (or whatever the hell its name is) the sucker finally works! I can run Quake II as a mortal. That small edit was changing "vesa" to "nvidia".

    Thanks to everyone who gave their advice. I am very grateful.

    MtD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •