Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi again, I'm writing a program that builds words letter by letter, and I was wondering if there's a better solution than this: Code: word = ""; for i in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Efficient concatenation in Python?

Hi again, I'm writing a program that builds words letter by letter, and I was wondering if there's a better solution than this:

Code:
    word = "";
    for i in range(0, length):
        word = word + newChar
    return word
    Is there something like a string buffer that I can use, or a method that converts a list into a string?

Thanks a lot for the help!

I am a mere python novice, but as far as I know, something like

Code:
    for item in list1: 
      string1 = string1 + item
    is the way to go. I checked the docs and didn't see a function that converts a list object to a string object.

Could you give a little more background on what it is you're doing? There may be another answer from a different angle. I don't understand why you are building words letter by letter.

I'm writing a program to generate random words based on a given definition. For example,

a V 100 50 50

in the input file tells the program that there's a vowel (V) named 'a' with an initial frequency of 100, a medial frequency of 50, and final frequency of 50. The input file also defines a set of patterns, such as CVC, so the code looks something like this:

Code:
    words = {}
    for i in range(0, numWordsToGenerate):
       pattern = selectPattern(patterns) # patterns is a list of patterns
       word = ""
       for j in range(0, len(pattern)):
          char = pattern[j]
          options = phonemes[char] # phonemes is a dictionary with word
                                                 # components
          phoneme = selectPhoneme(phonemes, j)
          word = word + phoneme
       if(word in words):
          i-- # Don't allow repeats
          continue