Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I configured JDOOM with no errors (or at least i think), but when ever i try to make i get a bunch of errors..and i have no idea what they ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    63

    Installing JDOOM


    I configured JDOOM with no errors (or at least i think), but when ever i try to make i get a bunch of errors..and i have no idea what they mean

    Code:
    make  all-recursive
    make[1]: Entering directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6'
    Making all in libltdl
    make[2]: Entering directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/libltdl'
    make  all-am
    make[3]: Entering directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/libltdl'
    make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/libltdl'
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/libltdl'
    Making all in Src
    make[2]: Entering directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/Src'
    Making all in dpDehRead
    make[3]: Entering directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/Src/dpDehRead'
    make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/Src/dpDehRead'
    Making all in dpMapLoad
    make[3]: Entering directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/Src/dpMapLoad'
    make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/Src/dpMapLoad'
    Making all in drOpenGL
    make[3]: Entering directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/Src/drOpenGL'
    make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/Src/drOpenGL'
    Making all in jDoom
    make[3]: Entering directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/Src/jDoom'
    if /bin/sh ../../libtool --mode=compile gcc -DUNIX -DGNU_X86_FIXED_ASM -D__JDOOM __ -I. -I. -I../.. -I../../Include/jDoom -I../../Include/Common -I../../Include     -Wunused-variable -Wunused-function -g -O2 -MT p_setup.lo -MD -MP -MF ".deps /p_setup.Tpo" \
      -c -o p_setup.lo `test -f 'p_setup.c' || echo './'`p_setup.c; \
    then mv -f ".deps/p_setup.Tpo" ".deps/p_setup.Plo"; \
    else rm -f ".deps/p_setup.Tpo"; exit 1; \
    fi
     gcc -DUNIX -DGNU_X86_FIXED_ASM -D__JDOOM__ -I. -I. -I../.. -I../../Include/jDoo m -I../../Include/Common -I../../Include -Wunused-variable -Wunused-function -g -O2 -MT p_setup.lo -MD -MP -MF .deps/p_setup.Tpo -c p_setup.c  -fPIC -DPIC -o .l ibs/p_setup.o
    p_setup.c: In function 'P_LoadVertexes':
    p_setup.c:77: warning: pointer targets in passing argument 1 of 'strlen' differ in signedness
    p_setup.c:77: warning: pointer targets in passing argument 1 of 'strlen' differ in signedness
    p_setup.c:77: warning: pointer targets in passing argument 1 of '__builtin_strcm p' differ in signedness
    p_setup.c:77: warning: pointer targets in passing argument 1 of 'strlen' differ in signedness
    p_setup.c:77: warning: pointer targets in passing argument 1 of '__builtin_strcm p' differ in signedness
    p_setup.c:77: warning: pointer targets in passing argument 1 of '__builtin_strcm p' differ in signedness
    p_setup.c:77: warning: pointer targets in passing argument 1 of '__builtin_strcm p' differ in signedness
    p_setup.c:77: warning: pointer targets in passing argument 1 of 'strncmp' differ  in signedness
    p_setup.c:87: error: invalid lvalue in assignment
    p_setup.c: In function 'P_LoadSegs':
    p_setup.c:135: error: invalid lvalue in assignment
    p_setup.c: In function 'P_LoadSegsGL':
    p_setup.c:176: error: invalid lvalue in assignment
    p_setup.c: In function 'P_LoadSubsectors':
    p_setup.c:242: error: invalid lvalue in assignment
    p_setup.c: In function 'P_LoadSectors':
    p_setup.c:269: error: invalid lvalue in assignment
    p_setup.c: In function 'P_LoadNodes':
    p_setup.c:304: error: invalid lvalue in assignment
    p_setup.c: In function 'P_LoadLineDefs':
    p_setup.c:395: error: invalid lvalue in assignment
    p_setup.c: In function 'P_LoadSideDefs':
    p_setup.c:473: error: invalid lvalue in assignment
    make[3]: *** [p_setup.lo] Error 1
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/Src/jDoom'
    make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6/Src'
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/hol/deng-1.8.6'
    make: *** [all] Error 2
    I'm using Suse 10.0...if there is a doom engine that has a Suse RPM would be nice if nobody knows how to help.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    hrm.. try with -O -pipe as your compiler flags.. if that doesn't work, check the line numbers of the source it gave you. it seems there's an error there. if you know a little C, you may be able to fix it and send a patch upstream.
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    63
    i found out why..it was because i had gcc 4.0.2 installed instead of an older version like 3.4.4. I installed 3.4.4 and my problems were fixed

    now the only thing is, how do i load a game in legacy...i figured out how to load a game in jdoom, but i don't know how to get legacy to start.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous1c4
    now the only thing is, how do i load a game in legacy...i figured out how to load a game in jdoom, but i don't know how to get legacy to start.
    Are we talking about Doom Legacy? You should be able to run it like this:

    Code:
    llxdoom -iwad /path/to/wadfile
    If you want full 3D support, add -opengl to the command line.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    63
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous1c4
    now the only thing is, how do i load a game in legacy...i figured out how to load a game in jdoom, but i don't know how to get legacy to start.
    Are we talking about Doom Legacy? You should be able to run it like this:

    Code:
    llxdoom -iwad /path/to/wadfile
    If you want full 3D support, add -opengl to the command line.
    IIt said something about X Windows and Bad Color...or something..i'll copy and paste in a bit
    Code:
    I_StartupTimer...
    I_StartupGraphics...
    Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
    Using MITSHM extension
    X Error of failed request:  BadColor (invalid Colormap parameter)
      Major opcode of failed request:  1 (X_CreateWindow)
      Resource id in failed request:  0x2f
      Serial number of failed request:  17
      Current serial number in output stream:  20

  6. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Try lsdldoom instead of llxdoom and see what it gives you.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1
    heya...

    i have the same problems with suse 10.0...

    When i use llxdoom i get this error:

    X Error of failed request: BadColor (invalid Colormap parameter)
    Major opcode of failed request: 1 (X_CreateWindow)
    Resource id in failed request: 0x21
    Serial number of failed request: 17
    Current serial number in output stream: 20

    When using lsdldoom i get this:
    ./lsdldoom: symbol lookup error: ./lsdldoom: undefined symbol: open_music

    "./lsdldoom -nosound -nomusic" works, but playing without sound isnt funny...


    After ive read Anonymous1c4's post im switching to 3.4.4 at this moment... thx for your help

  8. #8
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by Mindf00
    When using lsdldoom i get this:
    ./lsdldoom: symbol lookup error: ./lsdldoom: undefined symbol: open_music

    "./lsdldoom -nosound -nomusic" works, but playing without sound isnt funny...


    After ive read Anonymous1c4's post im switching to 3.4.4 at this moment... thx for your help
    I've had this problem before... do you have SDL_mixer installed?
    http://www.libsdl.org/projects/SDL_mixer/
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Running legacy

    No, lsdldoom don't run even if you correctly install SDL_mixer.

    If you want to play it anyway, run it with -nomusic and -nosound options.
    If you want to play it with sound but in windoze, it runs in wine

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •