Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Originally Posted by Dfyant And where does one get the .run file from? I have tgz files.... See the link that lordnothing posted. Haven't the foggiest where you got the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305

    Quote Originally Posted by Dfyant
    And where does one get the .run file from?

    I have tgz files....
    See the link that lordnothing posted. Haven't the foggiest where you got the tgz files from, never seem 'em in that format.

    Assuming you've got a intel type 32bit machine as well.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37
    Hi folks,

    Sorry for the long delay in getting back to this post.
    Firstly, I did quote the files incorrectly, they are in fact tar.gz files.
    I've been getting them from that same page you gave me, but under the AMD64 link as I have an AMD Processor - I assumed these were the ones I wanted, is this correct?

    My machine is an AMD 1200Mhz with 64MB GeForce Card.

    Thanks for your patience on this one!

    Regards,

    Chris

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    you need the IA32 files
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Boston MA USA
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris H
    The nVidia drivers are very easy to install.

    ...
    11. Replace 'nv' with 'nvidia'.
    12. Save
    13. Log back in as user and you should get the nVidia splash screen.
    14. Sorted.

    That's how I did it anyway.
    What do you mean by step 14. Sorted????

  5. #15
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Quote Originally Posted by birdofprey
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris H
    The nVidia drivers are very easy to install.

    ...
    11. Replace 'nv' with 'nvidia'.
    12. Save
    13. Log back in as user and you should get the nVidia splash screen.
    14. Sorted.

    That's how I did it anyway.
    What do you mean by step 14. Sorted????
    I think that's a British thing?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Boston MA USA
    Posts
    29
    Does anyone know how to change resolutions with the new driver?

    I mean, I have tried doing it the normal way, but it does not take effect.
    I'm stuck with 1024 x 768!!!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •