Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
When starting World of Warcraft using Cedega 4.4.3, I was able to log in and play fine when starting a new character. However when I try to log in to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5

    WoW Freezes Only When Trying to Log Into Existing Character, Works Fine WhenCreating a New Character


    When starting World of Warcraft using Cedega 4.4.3, I was able to log in and play fine when starting a new character. However when I try to log in to an existing character who sits inside Orgrimmar, the game freezes on loading screen, it's the screen after you selected your character and clicked on Enter World, the one with the blue progress bar. There's music and the mouse moves, but no other response, the only way out is Ctrl + Alt + Backspace.

    I tried to run it in OpenGL with all the fixes suggested in the documentation, same problem except the mouse freezes as well, only way out is Ctrl + Alt + Backspace.

    Game runs fine in Windows XP.

    I'm using Mobility Radeon 9000 64MB and its latest driver (8.18.6), 512MB RAM.

    Anybody have any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473

    Re: WoW Freezes Only When Trying to Log Into Existing Character, Works Fine WhenCreating a New Chara

    Quote Originally Posted by Anchovie
    Radeon
    theres your problem

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    I found the source of the error...

    Code:
    err:ntdll:display_wait_error Timeout. Retry with 60 secs: crit=0x417930f4 name="X11DRV_CritSection" ec=531 cc=531
    err:ntdll:display_wait_error backtrace="0x4006373a,0x4006331f,0x40062d0f,0x40062cb2,0x400ca7b4,0x417429d9,0x41742ef1,0x4"...
    err:ntdll:display_wait_error   crit (0x417930f4): lc 2 rc 2 ot 2 sem 8708 spin 0
    Hope this will help you guys better access my problem.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    do you have yuor ati drivers configured correctly? (they arent simple to set up)

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    Yes, I followed the HOTO located here with a fresh reinstall of Ubuntu.

    Code:
    anthony@anthony:~/wow$ fglrxinfo
    display: :0.0  screen: 0
    OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string: FireMV 2400 PCI DDR Generic
    OpenGL version string: 1.3.1014 (X4.3.0-8.18.6)
    anthony@anthony:~/wow$ glxgears
    8316 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1663.172 FPS
    8305 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1660.826 FPS
    8304 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1660.792 FPS
    8304 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1660.730 FPS
    anthony@anthony:~/wow$ fgl_glxgears
    Using GLX_SGIX_pbuffer
    1069 frames in 5.0 seconds = 213.800 FPS
    1260 frames in 5.0 seconds = 252.000 FPS
    1270 frames in 5.0 seconds = 254.000 FPS
    1252 frames in 5.0 seconds = 250.400 FPS

  7. #6
    Rye
    Rye is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3
    I hate to be a downer but you will not be able to play WoW on that hardware. I'm currently using a P4 2GHz, 1024 MB of RAM, GF4 Ti4200 (it gets slightly better FPS in linux than my newer 9800 pro) and get ~5k in glxgears. My FPS is around 30+ if I'm in the middle of nowhere but it is constantly dropping below 5 fps while raiding (1-2 FPS while fighting Nefarian); and I have the graphics settings set as low as possible.

    So if you can, I suggest you upgrade your hardware like I'm about to

  8. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    he has a laptop unfortunatly...

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    Game runs fine in Windows. Guess the lesson of the day is never try to emulate Windows programs under Linux. Use native Linux programs instead.

  10. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by Anchovie
    Game runs fine in Windows. Guess the lesson of the day is never try to emulate Windows programs under Linux. Use native Linux programs instead.
    have you ran any heavy open gl games in linux? and are you running wow like this? Just because they run on windows doesnt mean theyll work on linux, especialy with a ati video card

    Code:
    cedega WoW.exe -opengl

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1
    His hardware shouldn't cause that many problems. I have basically the same HW that he was, with a larger video RAM on a Intel Mobility Chipset (HP 1.4GHz CeleronM, 512 MB ddr2700 Ram, Intel 900M Video, set to full tilt) The only time I ever have probles is in IronForge. And everyone else I know runs into the same problem at Lagrimar and IronForge. And that is with 256MB Video RAM and 2GB RAM, on a 3.0ghz P4. Sorry for jackin' the thread.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •