Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
So I purchased Quake 4 downloaded the linux installer and got it up and running on my machine. Debian unstable 2.6.12 nVidia GeForce 4 Game runs great (for my specs ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    326

    Quake 4 Sound issues


    So I purchased Quake 4 downloaded the linux installer and got it up and running on my machine.

    Debian unstable 2.6.12 nVidia GeForce 4

    Game runs great (for my specs anyway.. ) but the sound is all distorted. I don't have a clue where to begin to troubleshoot this.

    I have several other games installed and working properly and experience no sound problems with them. ( bzflag, ut2004, savage, etc.. )

    Quake 4 on the other hand, well. it's sorta hard to describe.

    there is audio, but everything sounds like the reverb it turned the whole way up and the speech was done with an old software synthesizer, that is being put through a harmonizer. so it's basically completely un-intelligable. weapon sounds and background music all suffer from this distortion.

    I'm not even sure how to determine if I'm using alsa or oss, there are packages installed for both.

    I tried apt-get install libsdl1.2debain-alsa but was informed that libsdl1.2debian-oss was already installed. so maybe that's a clue. I checked for SDL because it is a requirement for the game.

    I went ahead and had it remove the oss versionand install the alsa version which had no effect on quake4, but screwed up the sound for the other games. so I put it back the way it was..

    So here i sit with an awesome game on my linux box that I can't enjoy due to a sound issue.

    Thanks for any help or suggestions. or even a pointer to a good forum that has community support of this specific game ( UT2004 had a nice Linux forum on the publishers site.. can't find a comparable forum for Q4 though )

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    A lot of folks (myself included) had this same kind of issue with Doom 3. For me, I switched distros, but there's a possible other solution on the id Doom 3 FAQ here:

    Long URL
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    326
    Thanks techieMoe that did the trick..

    set s_alsa_pcm plughw:0
    set NumberOfSpeakers 2

    all it's all good now !!

    SOLVED

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by farslayer
    set s_alsa_pcm plughw:0
    set NumberOfSpeakers 2
    Wait, so would I add these in the terminal after "quake4" or in quake4's console after i've already started it?

  6. #5
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by chiisu
    Wait, so would I add these in the terminal after "quake4" or in quake4's console after i've already started it?
    Read the link provided a few posts up.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    63
    I've tried that and alot of other things and nothing. My sound in quake4 is indescribably torturing. I get all this when running quake.

    Code:
    Async thread started
    idUsercmdGenLocal::MouseMove: Ignoring ridiculous mouse delta.
    snd_pcm_writei short write: 3450 out of 4096
    snd_pcm_writei short write: 1380 out of 2048
    idAudioHardwareALSA::Write: 4096 frames overflowed and dropped
    snd_pcm_writei short write: 1380 out of 2048
    snd_pcm_writei short write: 690 out of 1024
    snd_pcm_writei short write: 690 out of 1024
    snd_pcm_writei short write: 690 out of 1024
    guid set to m5p8RAdpRJ8
    snd_pcm_writei short write: 690 out of 1024
    And the whole, 4096 frame overflow stuff, goes on through the whole game.


    And yes my sound works in everything else except Quake4

    EDIT: Scratch that...my sound DOESN'T work in everything...now i'm getting this in UT2004

    Code:
    open /dev/[sound/]dsp: No such file or directory
    *sigh*...Am i a magnet for problems or something?

  8. #7
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous1c4
    Code:
    open /dev/[sound/]dsp: No such file or directory
    I don't have the foggiest idea what's causing your other errors, but this one might be caused by some program or daemon blocking access to your sound card. KDE sometimes does this with its artsd daemon.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •