Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Alright I have the newest versions of the Stepmaina binaries on my system. The program runs fine. But the sound is very screwed up and seems to have a staticy ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    103

    Garbled Stepmania Sound


    Alright I have the newest versions of the Stepmaina binaries on my system. The program runs fine. But the sound is very screwed up and seems to have a staticy delay.

    This is the output I get when I run the program

    Code:
    StepMania 3.9 rc4
    Log starting 2005-10-29 01:42:50
    Couldn't load driver gtk: dlopen(): /prog/StepMania-3.9-rc4/./GtkModule.so: cannot open shared ob ject file: No such file or directory
    Loading window: sdl
    OS: Linux ver 020612
    Crash backtrace component: x86 custom backtrace
    Crash lookup component: dladdr
    Crash demangle component: cxa_demangle
    Runtime library: glibc 2.3.5
    Threads library: NPTL 2.3.5
    TLS is available
    ALSA: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.9 (Sun May 29 07:31:02 2005 UTC).
    ALSA Driver: 0: ESS Allegro PCI [PCI], device 0: Allegro [Allegro], 1/2 subdevices avail
    Couldn't load driver ALSA: Not enough substreams for hardware mixing, using software mixing
    ALSA: Software mixing at 44100hz
    Sound driver: ALSA-sw
    Video renderers: 'opengl'
    SDL version: 1.2.8
    Got 16 bpp (5650), 16 depth, 0 stencil
    OGL Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
    OGL Renderer: GeForce2 MX/AGP/SSE
    OGL Version: 1.5.3 NVIDIA 76.67
    OGL Extensions: GL_ARB_imaging GL_ARB_multitexture GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_point_sprite GL _ARB_shader_objects GL_ARB_shading_language_100 GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_ARB_texture_cube_ma p GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_mirror ed_repeat GL_ARB_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object GL_ARB_ver tex_program GL_ARB_vertex_shader GL_ARB_window_pos GL_S3_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_EXT_Cg_shader GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_ multi_draw_arrays GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_paletted_texture GL_EXT_pixel_buffer_object GL_EXT_ point_parameters GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_E XT_shared_texture_palette GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_cube _map GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3 GL_EXT_texture_ filter_anisotropic GL_EXT_texture_lod GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_texture_object GL_EXT_vertex _array GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_KTX_buffer_region GL_NV_blend_squa re GL_NV_fence GL_NV_fog_distance GL_NV_light_max_exponent GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil GL_NV_pixel _data_range GL_NV_point_sprite GL_NV_register_combiners GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_texture_env _combine4 GL_NV_texture_rectangle GL_NV_vertex_array_range GL_NV_vertex_array_range2 GL_NV_vertex _program GL_NV_vertex_program1_1 GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_SGIS_multitexture GL_SGIS_texture_lod  GL_SUN_slice_accum
    OGL Max texture size: 2048
    GLU Version: 1.3
    Display: :0.0 (screen 0)
    Direct rendering: yes
    X server vendor: The X.Org Foundation [6.8.2.0]
    Server GLX vendor: NVIDIA Corporation [1.3]
    Client GLX vendor: NVIDIA Corporation [1.3]
    Fullscreen 640x480 16 color 16 texture 0Hz Vsync AA
    Found 0 joysticks
    Input devices changed from '' to 'Keyboard'.
    Remapping joysticks.
    Mixing 372.923439 ahead in 1698 Mix() calls
    Players joined: P1
    Language: english
    Current renderer: OpenGL
    Theme: default
    I see three possible errors.
    One is that it's not loading the GTK module
    The second is that It's not reading my sound card and is skipping straight into software.
    And the third being the error about substreams.

    I'm not sure about how to fix any of these and would like any help possible.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer oldcpu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,142

    Re: Garbled Stepmania Sound

    Quote Originally Posted by aeuzent
    Alright I have the newest versions of the Stepmaina binaries on my system. The program runs fine. But the sound is very screwed up and seems to have a staticy delay.
    I've never heard of stepmania (not stepmaina I assume). I did see this FAQ:
    http://www.stepmania.com/stepmania/m..._Linux_version

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    103
    Yes I've seen the FAQ too. It's just this side of useless. I've also seen several other people with my problem posting on different message boards about this. None of them got any replies.

    Extra incentive for you guys. Solve it for me and the world.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer oldcpu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,142

    Good luck - not much I can do to help.

    Quote Originally Posted by aeuzent
    Yes I've seen the FAQ too. It's just this side of useless. I've also seen several other people with my problem posting on different message boards about this. None of them got any replies.
    Good luck, not much I can do to help as I don't have this problem.

    Any chance this is a alsa problem with your sound card, and not specific to stepmania?

    I see others on different distrubutions have staticy delay problem with alsa and their sound cards:
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/archiv...p/t-59346.html

    Edit: deleted reference to SuSE. Got confused on my forums

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    103
    Well I have read that if you specifically define your sound device in the Stepmania config the problem may be solved. Stepmania uses direct hardware sound, it doesn't go through the GUI sound servers. However I havn't been able to figure out exactally what it wants me to put as a sound device. I've tried a number of things (alsa, alsa-sw, /dev/dsp, oss, ESS Allegro) None of them do anything but give me further errors.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    103
    Alright I've tracked down the problem. As it turns out my laptops sound card uses an OSS driver. Stepmania wants ALSA. Apparently there's a problem with the ALSA-OSS wrapper. So there's that problem


    Also I have the option to redirect what Stepmania uses for sound. I would like to switch it over to the gnome sound server. But I don't know where or what that is so I cant.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •