Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
hey, i have some trouble with games on linux.. im new to linux so i quite dont know what the problem is.. anyway i use cedega and wine, when the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    25

    gaming with linux?


    hey, i have some trouble with games on linux..

    im new to linux so i quite dont know what the problem is..
    anyway i use cedega and wine, when the game opens (wc3 frozen throne) screen gets all messed up, cant tell whats buttons and not .. can't see anything at all.

    in x config glx, dri is enabled etc..

    please help

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Cedega is a half-step at best. It's not meant to replace Microsoft Windows, just offer a way for some people to play some of their MS Windows games in Linux.

    Some major games have native Linux versions, such as the entire DOOM and Quake series, Neverwinter Nights, and Unreal Tournament GOTY/2003/2004. The Transgaming forums are an excellent place to ask questions regarding Cedega-specific problems. Warcraft 3 (if I remember correctly) is officially supported on there.

    http://www.transgaming.org/forum
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    25
    i've tried quake1 / quake2 / quake 3..gives same result
    i have tried wine and it give same result... so my guess is that theres nothin wrong with the games nor the programs :P

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by slacker-boney
    i've tried quake1 / quake2 / quake 3..gives same result
    i have tried wine and it give same result... so my guess is that theres nothin wrong with the games nor the programs :P
    Are your 3D drivers installed? What display card do you have?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    25
    ATI Radeon XPRESS 200M 128 MB

    3D drivers? is this what you mean?

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "dri"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "glx"
    Load "record"
    Load "xtrap"
    Load "speedo"
    Load "type1"
    EndSection

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canada EH
    Posts
    12
    im also a linux gamer but i have little troble getting games to work i got doom 1 2 TnT and ultimte to work quake 3 and i hear starcraft might work as well ^_^ besides deiban is not newbie friendly

    So.. anyone know of any other windows games that can/have been gotten to work on linux?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    25
    they have a whole list of games that work on www.transgaming.com

  8. #8
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by slacker-boney
    ATI Radeon XPRESS 200M 128 MB

    3D drivers? is this what you mean?

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "dri"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "glx"
    Load "record"
    Load "xtrap"
    Load "speedo"
    Load "type1"
    EndSection
    No. What I mean by "3D Drivers" are these (since you have an ATI card):

    ATI Linux Driver Page

    If you don't have 3D drivers installed, no 3D game will work correctly, including all the games you mentioned before. I must also warn you that ATI's Linux drivers are notoriously bad, so there's no guarantee they will work for you.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    25
    aight, thx a lot for your help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •