Find the answer to your Linux question:
I posted a question similar to this on the Gentoo Forums a while back but now I would like to get some feedback from these forums. Being that I have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux based DAW???

I posted a question similar to this on the Gentoo Forums a while back but now I would like to get some feedback from these forums.

Being that I have been a musician for over 15 years I have been lucky enough to see the home recording studio become a common reality. Of course the DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) has been at the heart of this home based evolution. From the old Atari SE and Commodore 64 to the Apple MAC G5 and in some cases WinXP based DAW's, the DAW has pretty much become the standard pro audio centerpiece of the digital revolution. Now I have noticed ever since I have begun my personal Linux journey that there isn't much of a pro audio following in the GNU/ Linux, open source world. This seems a bit odd to me for the simple reason that the most widely used OS in professional and semi-professional home based studios, the MAC OSX, is in fact a Unix based OS.

So I ask you fellow *nix users, if there are any home recording enthusiasts lurking around in these forums, what distro would you recommend as a good stable starting point for building a purely open source DAW???

Please feel free to share any tips, tricks, recommendations, etc..etc..

Linux Newbie
    Similar question to me:

http://www.linuxforums.com/forum/t52...lications.html

Any one care to share?

I dable quite a bit in home audio recording with Windows and Linux. The two best distros for audio recording seem to be Agnula and the Planet CCRMA packages for Fedora. I have personally never used Planet CCRMA but have used Agnula/Demudi. It is very good in my opinion. I have a couple posts around here regarding that.