Find the answer to your Linux question:
Newbie needs to play audio files with a variable backspace, i.e. a "dictating machine." I am a professional transcriptionist and this would be useful for my business. Would appreciate any ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need to play audio files with variable backspace.

Newbie needs to play audio files with a variable backspace, i.e. a "dictating machine." I am a professional transcriptionist and this would be useful for my business. Would appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Farnham

Linux User
    Might help if we knew what variable backspace was... I can find dictation equipment that supports variable backspace but I can't seem to find a definition of what it is..

I'm assuming you do not mean variable playback speed..

Ahh finally found a explaination..

VARIABLE BACKSPACE FUNCTION
    The rewind or review button is used when you wish to revise the recorded content; when, at the time of transcribing, you wish to go back to sections you could not discern clearly; or when you want to listen repeatedly to a certain section. In place of having to determine the rewinding distance by pressing the rewind button, the variable backspace function enables a section to be rewound to a present point. This saves the time and effort of having to manually in a hit or miss fashion.
    So you want to be able to playback an audio file, and mark sections so you can get back to them easily at a later point in time. like index marks...

Totally not my field, not sure if this app will do what you want, but it does list transcription and transcription audio formats in it's overview..
    http://www.speech.kth.se/wavesurfer/

http://www.nch.com.au/scribe/ - lists linux..

http://www.freewisdom.org/projects/earnote/ - basic but supports timecoding and mp3 format..

dunno if any of those will do exactly what you want..

good luck..
    far...out

Just Joined!

Does this work?