Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
ive installed americas army, but now i cant get it to work.. ive tried running the executable file, then i get a black window that appears for about a half ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    13

    how to play americas army?


    ive installed americas army, but now i cant get it to work.. ive tried running the executable file, then i get a black window that appears for about a half second and then dissapears again.. followed by a whole lot of nothing.. what is causing this?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    Just so we have the basics covered:
    1. What kind of video card are you using?
    2. Do you have the accelerated drivers installed for that card?
    3. What distro are you running?
    4. How are you running the game (from a GUI icon or from an xterm)?
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140
    You might want to wait for the linux port of america's army 2.6.
    2.5 servers are becoming rare and the 2.5 version of the game won't run on the 2.6 servers.
    The 2.6 linux client should be out any day. Check the forums at America's army for the announcement.
    WARNING: I may be telling you more than I know !

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    13
    this is the error i get:
    WARNING: ALC_EXT_capture is subject to change!
    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
    Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
    Signal: SIGSEGV [segmentation fault]
    Aborting.


    Crash information will be saved to your logfile.
    X Error of failed request: BadColor (invalid Colormap parameter)
    Major opcode of failed request: 79 (X_FreeColormap)
    Resource id in failed request: 0x380000c
    Serial number of failed request: 104
    Current serial number in output stream: 106

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140
    I don't see any answers to zelmo's questions in your reply.
    Anyway, the problem is the video card drivers. They will have to be installed.

    When Americas Army 2.6 for linux comes out, and it will be soon, the 2.5 client will have to be uninstalled. This game doesn't get patched, it gets replaced. Or at least that's the way it worked last upgrade.
    WARNING: I may be telling you more than I know !

  7. #6
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Hmm..........

    It's coming from Xlib which means that something is wrong with the graphics. Try going into "system settings" and make sure you have the right driver for your video card and monitor. Also check the screen resolution to make sure you have it on the right size. Some games require a certain screen resolution in order to play.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    13
    i've updated the graphic card drivers.. i use nvidia geforce fx 5500..

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by Zelmo
    3. What distro are you running?
    While you're answering that, go ahead and mention how you installed the video drivers (nvidia's executable or distribution's package).
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    13
    ubuntu 5.10.. and i updated using apt-get install nvidia-glx-legacy

  11. #10
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    When starting up one of the Render, DisplayImg or TransformGen modules generates the message: "X Error of failed request: BadColor (invalid Colormap parameter)"

    The DISPLAY environment variable is either not set, or is set to":0.0" causing the system to use "direct rendering". To avoid this, modify the DISPLAY variable to contain your hostname, e.g. on a system called "dennis":

    C shell users

    % setenv DISPLAY dennis:0.0

    Bash/Korn shell users:

    % DISPLAY=dennis:0.0 % export DISPLAY

    N.B. This may cause a slight decrease in performance

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •