Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi... I've been trying to figure out how to use mencoder to encode videos so that I can burn them and watch them on my DVD player. I can turn ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Mencoder encoding for DVDs

Hi... I've been trying to figure out how to use mencoder to encode videos so that I can burn them and watch them on my DVD player. I can turn them into .AVI's , but they don't work on the DVD player. I've tried changing a lot fo things, but the problem is I'm not very good at understanding almost all of the things I read about the coding. I was wondering if someone could explain or show me what to do. Or if someone could point me to a site that explains thing in a way that people like me, who aren't really smart enough to understand this stuff, can understand.

The original coding I used was this:

mencoder movie.wmv -o movie.avi -ovc lavc -oac lavc

I've added and changed different things in this code to try and make it work, I've been trying to figure it out for days, and I just don't understand it....help?

this is the command I use to convert avi to mpeg I think it should work with wmv.

Code:
    mencoder /home/bob/test.avi -of mpeg -vf scale=720:480,harddup -oac lavc -ovc lavc -lavcopts acodec=ac3:abitrate=192:vcodec=mpeg2video:keyint=25:vbitrate=5000:aspect=4/3 -mpegopts format=dvd -srate 48000 -ofps 30000/1001 -o /home/bob/tv1.mpg
    You then need to use a program to create the dvd structure. I would suggest dvdstyler because it is a gui program which utilized dvdauthor to help you create a nice little menu for your new dvd and will also create proper dvd structure. Then you need to burn. I would use k3b for this.

here is link for dvdstyler
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL